• Current Reads

      Life after Life Jill McCorkle
      This Is Your Captain Speaking Jon Methven
      The Starboard Sea Amber Dermont
      Snark David Denby
      Bring Up the Bodies Hilary Mantel
  • Popular Tags

  • Recent Reflections

  • Categories

  • Moleskine’s All-Time Favorites

  • Echoes

    jrweyrich on Libreria Acqua Alta in Ve…
    Diana @ Thoughts on… on [827] The Luminaries – E…
    The HKIA brings Hong… on [788] Island and Peninsula 島與半…
    Adamos on The Master and Margarita:…
    sumithra MAE on D.H. Lawrence’s Why the…
    To Kill a Mockingbir… on [35] To Kill A Mockingbird…
  • Reminiscences

  • Blog Stats

    • 1,096,360 hits
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,708 other subscribers

[337] Norwegian Wood – Haruki Murakami

” I have always loved Naoko, and I still love her. But there is a decisive finality to what exists between Midori and me. It has an irresistible power that is bound to sweep me into the future. What I feel for Naoko is a tremendously quiet and gentle and transparent love, but what I feel for Midori is a wholly different emotion. ” [268]

I’m bowled over by the racy nature of Norwegian Wood, consider that it is a simple coming-of-age story set in 1969-70 in Japan. Although it’s a complete stylistic departure from Murakami’s usual mysterious and surreal novels, Norwegian Wood can’t help delving in the complicated human nature in which a young man’s failed romance leaves him in a metaphysical shamble. Despite the emotional and psychological tug-of-war that entails, the story itself is straight-forward: Toru Tatanabe, a 37-year-old businessman, hears a version of the Beatles’ Norwegian Wood, which transports him 18 years back to his college days—just after his best friend, Kizuki, committed suicide. Toru then became involved with Kizuki’s girlfriend, Naoko.

Kizuki and I had a truly special relationship. We had been together from the time we were three . . . So after he died, I didn’t know how to relate to other people. I didn’t know what it means to love another person. [112]

While Naoko is in a convalescent home for disturbed people, Toru meets Midori, a fellow classmate who is more than interested in him. Midori, open-minded and sanguine, lightened up Toru’s days with their long walk around Tokyo. As he slowly falls for her, he feels that he has a kind of responsibility and cannot turn his head back on Naoko, he is in an emotional turmoil. He know she lovesMidori, but he would not admit to that conclusion. He realizes he cannot continue his relationship with Naoko, who wasn’t in love with him anyway, and whose sanity is fast deteriorating.

Where the road sloped upward beyond the trees, I sat and looked toward the building where Naoko lived . . . I focused on that point of light for a long, long time. It made me think of something like the final throb of a soul’s dying embers . . . I went on watching it the way Jay Gatsby watched that tiny light on the opposite shore night after night. [113]

Norwegian Wood explores loneliness and isolation that befall the young generation in the political upheavals of the late 1960s. The heart of the book is about how memory of love is retained and preserved after death. Naoko doesn’t want to fall in love with Toru, let alone being sexually intimate with him, because she wants to preserve the last of her intimate memory of Kizuki. She knows she will always remember Kizuki and wants that memory to be unsullied, untainted by relationship with another person. This really brings out the (principally) different perspectives between men and women on relationship. What women are after is more than just physical fidelity: emotional fidelity. Watanabe tries to remain faithful to Naoko, who is not in love with him despite the lustful desire. The portrayal of sex in the book is relatively unusual—but the novel itself is more obviously Japanese than most of Murakami’s work. From the surfeit of suicides (beside the significant ones a couple of peripheral figures and relatives are also suicides) to Japanese customs and expectations some of the book will strike Western readers as odd. Most of the book, however, comes across very well in this universal story of love, loss, and finding one’s place in the world.

293 pp. [Read/Skim/Toss] [Buy/Borrow]

9 Responses

  1. Great review, you bought it all back for me. I read this a few years ago and now I find that Murakami’s narratives tend to blur into one another into a wonderfully indistinct plot where the central character has inevitably just been dumped, has a cat, works in some inane job, loves women’s ears, lives alone and loves music. I have loved each individual book that I have read, but I don’t mind either the blur that they have become over the years. I think my favorites are still Dance, Dance Dane and A Wild Sheep Chase.

  2. I love the way you review your stories. I have read your reviews with enjoyment even when you stated you didn’t like the read that much.

  3. I owned this book for years but never got around to reading it. Your review reminded me of how lovely it sounds (I adore coming of age stories). Thanks!

  4. I’ve heard really great things about this and need to get to it in 2011…

  5. Great review. I’ve read three Murakami novels – this one, Wind Up Bird Chronicles and Sputnik Sweetheart. I think that Norwegian Wood is my favorite, and hearing about it again reminded me why. I kind of want to reread it, but he has written so many, maybe I’ll redirect that desire towards Kafka on the Shore.

  6. I have been meaning to read Murakami for some time now. I’m not sure if this one is the best one for me to start with but I will add this to my list to read in the future, regardless.

  7. […] Matt (A guy’s moleskine notebook) Bookie Mee (pre-blogging days short review) Astrid paramita short review who finish the book same day as I am. Writer on Writers […]

  8. A great review, I really enjoyed it. I have Norwegian Wood but haven’t read it yet. This would be my second Murakami novel, first being After Dark which I found very strange and also very good in a new and refreshing way.

    “What women are after is more than just physical fidelity: emotional fidelity.”

    Aren’t guys the same?

  9. […] Norwegian Wood lives up to its hype, the equally famed (and acclaimed) The Wind-Up Bird Chronicle is a puzzle. The […]

Leave a comment