• Current Reads

      Life after Life Jill McCorkle
      This Is Your Captain Speaking Jon Methven
      The Starboard Sea Amber Dermont
      Snark David Denby
      Bring Up the Bodies Hilary Mantel
  • Popular Tags

  • Recent Reflections

  • Categories

  • Moleskine’s All-Time Favorites

  • Echoes

    jrweyrich on Libreria Acqua Alta in Ve…
    Diana @ Thoughts on… on [827] The Luminaries – E…
    The HKIA brings Hong… on [788] Island and Peninsula 島與半…
    Adamos on The Master and Margarita:…
    sumithra MAE on D.H. Lawrence’s Why the…
    To Kill a Mockingbir… on [35] To Kill A Mockingbird…
  • Reminiscences

  • Blog Stats

    • 1,096,306 hits
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,708 other subscribers

[279] Holy Fools – Joanne Harris

” The abbey is perhaps the only refuge where the past may be left behind. But the past is a sly sickness. It may be carried on a breath of wind; in the sound of a flute; on the feet of a dancer. ” [1, 5]
” I was young; intoxicated, to be sure, by my new life; but Isabelle’s daughter was not to be blinded by frills and fripperies. No, it was love that blinded me, and when our ship of dreams struck aground, it was love that kept me at his side. ” [5, 27]

Britanny, 1610. Juliette has once been an actress and rope dancer. Betrayed by a troupe leader for whom she has mistakenly planted the seed of affection, she is forced to seek refuge among the sisters of the abbey of Sainte Marie-de-la-mer. Renivented as Soeur Auguste, Juliette told the sisters that she was a widow when she arrived five years ago.

We share little except a need for privacy, a mistrust of men, an instinctive solidarity, which outweighed differences of upbringing and belief. Each one of us fleeing something we could not quite see. As I said, we all have our secrets. [2, 12]

Juliette’s comfortable life comes to an end when the kindly abbess dies. The successor, a girl from a corrupted religious family, whose shyness quickly reveals to be high-bred contempt, is so strict that the abbey’s way of life is overturned. But she is a fool to be manipulated by an impostor. Abetted on her reforms is a confessor, Pere Colombin, whose disguise and style Juliette, to her dread and shock, recognizes right away. It’s LeMerle the troupe leader—what’s his game in the abbey, if there is no monetary in it?

No as it was demonic influence, she was sure of it. Mere Isabelle was sure of it, and to such an extent that the new abbess had ordered Pere Colombin to bless the well and the entire abbey grounds if necessary. [20, 151]

Hence is an arm-race against time, between LeMerle and Juliette, who tries to outsmart one another, as LeMerle has succeeded in holding the sisters in the palm of his hand. He takes advantage of their shallow conviction in their faith; he creates in the abbey an atmosphere of fear, mistrust, and demonic possession. As the abbey thrives on gossips and whispered scandal, Juliette has to think what the impostor’s next move will be—even though his grand motive is unknown. Holy Fools, a title that mocks religion’s thinking only in absolutes, is a story of intrigues and unimagined plottings. Harris is able to reveal and conceal, feeding just the necessary information to set up a belated climax.

355 pp. [Read/Skim/Toss] [Buy/Borrow]

12 Responses

  1. I just read a Joanne Harris earlier this month, after discovering her last year. I find her books really diverting and fun to read; they’re a good diversion from much of my other reading material. I’d not heard of this title, but it definitely sounds like one I’d enjoy when I’m in the mood for another Harris fix.

  2. If you have not read, I suggest Gentlemen and Players. It’s even more diverted and twisted than this one. I am always fond of a novel with an academic setting.

  3. I quite love Joanne Harris (those I’ve read) and my current favourite is The Lollipop Shoes (sequel to Chocolat), my friend and I had a delicious conversation about it the other day so I am actually looking for another JH to read, I think you may have found one!!

    • I discovered Joanne Harris through a blog when I first started blogging. I read Gentlemen and Players and even to-date it’s my favorite of hers. I didn’t know there is a sequel to Chocolat, so thank you for bringing that to my attention. 🙂

  4. I’ve read Chocolat by Joanne Harris, but wasn’t as positive about it as others seem to be. This book does appeal to me though, so I think I might give Harris another try.

    • I think Chocolat is lighter and less literary. It’s sort of a “chick lit” to me. Holy Fools is so much darker, and therefore, more substantial. I think you’ll like this book better. 🙂

  5. Don’t know what planet I live on because I’ve never heard of this author. The story sounds riveting!

    • I just discovered that Joanne Harris’s native language is not English! She also wrote about food and wine. If you like a thriller with academic setting, try Gentlemen and Players. I also recommend Holy Fools.

  6. This sounds fascinating! I didn’t care for Chocolat but I enjoyed Gentlemen and Players a lot – not enough to buy, but I was glad I had read it. Holy Fools sounds like a similarly twisty kind of book.

    • Jenny we have very similar taste. I was glad I read Chocolat but it didn’t make a lasting impression on me. This one is darker than Gentlemen and Players but probably not as twisted. The secret is well-kept until the very end.

  7. Sounds intriguing. I’ll be sure to pick it up if I see it at the used bookstore or library. Thanks for the review.

Leave a comment