• Current Reads

      Life after Life Jill McCorkle
      This Is Your Captain Speaking Jon Methven
      The Starboard Sea Amber Dermont
      Snark David Denby
      Bring Up the Bodies Hilary Mantel
  • Popular Tags

  • Recent Reflections

  • Categories

  • Moleskine’s All-Time Favorites

  • Echoes

    jrweyrich on Libreria Acqua Alta in Ve…
    Diana @ Thoughts on… on [827] The Luminaries – E…
    The HKIA brings Hong… on [788] Island and Peninsula 島與半…
    Adamos on The Master and Margarita:…
    sumithra MAE on D.H. Lawrence’s Why the…
    To Kill a Mockingbir… on [35] To Kill A Mockingbird…
  • Reminiscences

  • Blog Stats

    • 1,096,288 hits
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,708 other subscribers

Scary 50

Thanks to Tina at Book Chatter for the link. It’s fall and Halloween is right around the corner. It’s time to curl up with a book guaranteed to give me the shivers. The 50 Scariest Books of All Time is limited one book per author. The first ten titles are:

It by Stephen King
Piercing by Ryu Murakami
The Exorcist by William Peter Blatty
Ghost Story by Peter Straub
American Psycho by Bret Easton Ellis
Hell House by Richard Matheson
Dracula by Bram Stoker
The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood
The Best of H. P. Lovecraft by H.P. Lovecraft
The Turn of the Screw by Henry James

It’s a great, intriguing list indeed, which covers pretty much most of the modern horror classics. The ones marked in red are what I have picked out today at the store. I have never been a fan of vampire stories so Dracula stays off my reading list. The Handmaid’s Tale is a classic even though I don’t find it scary at all, more appalling and chilling. The list also mentions The Haunting of the Hill House, which has not be matched in its magnitude of horror until I read The House Next Door this year. American Psycho is just disturbing, both in words and in motion picture. Grisly and bloody graphics don’t scare me as much as the atmospheric horror.

6 Responses

  1. My head exploded when I saw this list today! I almost just want to stop what I’m doing to read them all (or at least the ones I haven’t read yet). The House Next Door WAS terrifying! The only issue with lists like these is that I don’t know where to start.

  2. You chose some excellent titles. I added Hell House to my Goodreads list but IT is as wonderful, as it is terrifying. Childhood fears play a large role in that one and you will hate clowns forever!

  3. I’ve not read a scary book in so long! Thanks for posting this list. I also checked out the list of scary books Book Depository sent in its promotional e-mail. Will read at least one of it since Halloween is this month. 🙂

  4. I hope you enjoy It, it is one of the scariest King books, for me. The Shining is the scariest, I just reread that last month and enjoyed it as much as the first time. And still couldn’t read it when alone in the house! lol I have The House Next Door on hold at the library, I don’t know if it will come in in time for the challenge, but I’ve heard so much about it that I will read it any time! I just read Hell House for the first time last month also, and reviewed it. Quite frightening in places, very good horror story. I hope you enjoy it, and all your books. Now to go look at the full list! thanks for linking to it.

  5. Great list to have for this time of the year! I just finished Dracula and I loved it. I’m with you on The Handmaid’s Tale – not a traditional scary read but definitely chilling.

  6. I think I have The House Next Door on my TBR.

Leave a comment