• Current Reads

      Life after Life Jill McCorkle
      This Is Your Captain Speaking Jon Methven
      The Starboard Sea Amber Dermont
      Snark David Denby
      Bring Up the Bodies Hilary Mantel
  • Popular Tags

  • Recent Reflections

  • Categories

  • Moleskine’s All-Time Favorites

  • Echoes

    jrweyrich on Libreria Acqua Alta in Ve…
    Diana @ Thoughts on… on [827] The Luminaries – E…
    The HKIA brings Hong… on [788] Island and Peninsula 島與半…
    Adamos on The Master and Margarita:…
    sumithra MAE on D.H. Lawrence’s Why the…
    To Kill a Mockingbir… on [35] To Kill A Mockingbird…
  • Reminiscences

  • Blog Stats

    • 1,096,381 hits
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,708 other subscribers

Blogsphere is a Zoo?

Biweekly Gathering 47: 笑傲江湖 It’s a Zoo Out There!

I hope this is what the moderator meant. 笑傲江湖 is a popular Chinese epic novel that has been adopted into television series and movies. Think of flying daggers, swooshing swords, and healing potions. It reminds me of gangster, swordsmen, hooligans—someone whom you don’t want to cross path with, let alone mess with. 笑傲江湖 is that transcendental state of mindset in which one is completely at ease and is above all the mumbo jumbo that’s going on around him. What kind of place is the blogging world? Is it also a crazy zoo?

I’m lucky to have met many (book) bloggers with whom I share common (reading) interests. A blog (specialty blogs like book blogs) is specific and only people who are interested in a specific subject will stay connected. The returning visitors of a site-specific blog must either resonate with the subject matter or find the content informative. My blog, for example, exercises a pattern of which book reviews and editorial pieces on bookish issues form the backbone. An effort is made to minimize digression from the standard subject matter, in other words, readers will usually find what they expect. Compared to one-sentence status updates, say, on social media sites like Facebook, blogging seems too big and impersonal, because I only blog about books. If the subject of books is what readers dig, the time it takes to craft sharp, witty blog prose is well-spent. Blogs should continue to thrive as long as readers appreciate prose. The personal weblogs that rant about daily trivia are most likely be replaced by Facebook status updates.

While fulfilling my lust on books and literature, the best thing that happens to me is meeting all of you readers and book bloggers, who contribute to a very thought-provoking and inspiring discussion. I enjoy reading all your comments although I might not be able to get on top of responding promptly. In establishing a voice here, I have found myself–to express myself fully. Recently I feel challenged to be able to post daily, although readers probably won’t mind if I skip a day or two, as long as the content delivers. As to the audience, I have never thought the blog would have attracted so many people from all over the world. Strange is that my friends and family, to whom I target at the beginning of this establishment, hardly read my blog. Individuals who were separate during the day—at work and in whatever circumstances and station of life—begin to lose uniqueness, to leak distinctiveness, melting into a collective that is found in this blog, which talks about books and literary topics. In a way, this is a healthy kind of zoo, with all the sanity you can be rest-assured, because the subject matter of this patch of the blogging world steers me clear of the zoo.

11 Responses

  1. You are great at what you do, so keep going at it. I was always maintained that I blog for myself first before anyone else. So if there is no one reading my post, I will still be blogging.

    None of my friends and relatives, even though I have shared my blog link. I think it’s a big “tragedy” of the Chinese community, we do stuff, work hard but hardly reflect or read.

  2. I suppose I am reflecting too much I seem incoherent drafting a sensible comment!! Here’s another try (if you can delete the previous comment!):

    You are great at what you do, so keep going at it. I have always maintain that I blog for myself first before anyone else. So if there is no one reading my post, I will still be blogging.

    None of my friends and relatives read my book review blog, even though I have shared my blog link. I think it’s a big “tragedy” of the Chinese community, we do stuff, work hard but hardly reflect or read.

    • I would continue the blog too even if nobody reads it. It’s a venue by which I reflect upon what I read. I think Chinese people are busy making a living, shopping—anything but reading. Reading takes concentration, which can be difficult when you’re in the midst of hustle and bustle in a city like Hong Kong.

  3. It is funny, that is exactly the way it happens in my life too. A few of my family members get the automatic e-mail every time I post, but even then they don’t always read it. Very few of my loved ones IRL have any clue what I do.

    I love your blog. You provide the clear-headed, well-constructed review of books I aspire to read. I have fantasies of immitating your routine…reading great literature in a coffee shop every morning, taking notes in my stylish moleskin notebook. (Ha! My life couldn’t be further from this right now!)

    • Friends might occasionally hop on to read, but family is totally off-putting. After a few mentions, I won’t make a point telling people to read. Maybe blogs work like commercials, it’s all subconscious.

  4. […] galaxy,  Wordy, Random Coil, Matthew, Haricot, […]

  5. I’m still reading.

  6. i love books too.

Leave a comment