• Current Reads

      Life after Life Jill McCorkle
      This Is Your Captain Speaking Jon Methven
      The Starboard Sea Amber Dermont
      Snark David Denby
      Bring Up the Bodies Hilary Mantel
  • Popular Tags

  • Recent Reflections

  • Categories

  • Moleskine’s All-Time Favorites

  • Echoes

    jrweyrich on Libreria Acqua Alta in Ve…
    Diana @ Thoughts on… on [827] The Luminaries – E…
    The HKIA brings Hong… on [788] Island and Peninsula 島與半…
    Adamos on The Master and Margarita:…
    sumithra MAE on D.H. Lawrence’s Why the…
    To Kill a Mockingbir… on [35] To Kill A Mockingbird…
  • Reminiscences

  • Blog Stats

    • 1,096,395 hits
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,708 other subscribers

Musing Mondays on Series

musingmondays1

Do you prefer to read stand-alone books, or books in series? Do you stick with a series the whole way through or stop after the first installment? Are there any particular series you enjoy?

I wish I can make this answer very interesting with recommendations on series, but I haven’t read enough to be conversant. The Thursday Next Series, which set in Jasper Fforde’s parallel universe of England as a republic, is a set of comic fantasy and alternate history novels. The debut of the series, The Eyre Affair, still sits sullenly on my bookcase with the bookmark inserted not too far away from the front jacket. That a detective is pursuing a master criminal in Jane Eyre is very intriguing but I cannot get into the book. I bow out of Harry Potter series at Book 4, was it Book 5 (?) for the exactly opposite reason: the books are packed with too many minute details, so dense that I cannot manage with all the facts. I have forgotten what I have read by the time I’m halfway through the book. I find the movies more satisfying. Which leads to my endearing series by the Queen of Crime, Agatha Christie. My first book of hers was And Then There Was None, which belongs to the Hercule Poirot series.I am about half way through the Miss Jane Marple series. I tend to read more stand-alones. Series is difficult to keep up. I get overwhelmed if I discover a new series and notice I have to read from the very beginning.

19 Responses

  1. The Thursday Next Series sounds really interesting 😛 (you did say the magic words though..’Jane Eyre’)

    I too find series overwhelming, I think they’re better suited to children because when you first learn to read, familiarity and pattern is comforting, but as we grow older it becomes too tiring/boring/etc.

  2. I have been thinking about reading the Thursday Next books for awhile now… I just like books, books and MORE BOOKS! I don’t care if they’re part of a series or not. Here’s my full response.

  3. I really like series. I like having something to look forward too. I don’t mind reading the back books. Here is mine

  4. I did manage to read the Eyre Affair and liked it well enough, but I have had not had the desire to read the rest of the books in the series (although I really love the premise).

    While I plan to post on this weekly geek topic within the next few days, suffice it to say that I tend to read stand alones as well. I have “read” (actually listened to the audio book) the first three Harry Potter books and have thoroughly enjoyed them. Although I am not sure which I enjoy most: the books or Jim Dale’s narration.

  5. I don’t mind series but I usually like to wait until all the books in a series are out before I start reading. That way I can read them one after another and avoid problems like forgetting what happened in book one…

  6. I tried to get interested in the Thursday books but just couldn’t get past Chapter 2. I love series and usually read quite a few of them.

  7. Detective novels are the only series that interest me. I tend to pick one up every once in a while, preferring to shop around according to my whim. I enjoy the Miss Marple, Poirot mysteries; also I savor the Harriet Vane Lord Peter Wimsey novels by Dorothy L. Sayers. Gaudy Night is probably my all time favorite detective novel — Harriet at last requites Wimsey’s love. Blissful moment.

  8. Oh Matt, you mentioned two series that I love! The Eyre Affair can take some adjusting to, but it’s really very fun, and the first book is probably the weakest in the series. I find those books so much fun! And of course I love the Harry Potter books… don’t know what it is about them (maybe because I read them so many times?), but my brain was like a sponge for that world and all its inhabitants.

  9. I try to keep with the series I can read. I just fill it in with a stand alone if its not available..

  10. I don’t mind either of them as long as the stories are great and they keep me entertained!

    I’m re-reading Book 1 – 3 of the Harry Potter series, and I can’t wait to read the rest of the books. I’ve to thank the HP Reading Challenge for giving me the opportunity to read the HP series, and of course not to mention the movies. I’m hoping to finish the series before I catch the movie next year!!! 😛

  11. I think I have read almost all the Agatha Christies. Except for those which have been found recently. I even owned most of those which I gave away to my 13 years old niece. She was thrilled to recieve it.

    Mondays: What’s up?

  12. It seems almost all the series I read are mysteries …what can I say, I like mysteries, they are my comfort food of books and maybe they lend themselves to series somehow, more than other genres.

  13. I have to start from book 1 in a series too. I have not read Japer’s series and gave up HP after book 1.

  14. I loved the Hercule Poirot series by Christie. It was just excellent. Then again, I loved Harry Potter and the Thursday Next series too!

  15. I read the Eyre Affair but didn’t really care for it. I loved And Then There Were None! My answer is up Debbie’s World of Books

  16. I feel the same way about Harry Potter, I wished her editor had axed a few of those mind boggling details. But I do love the characters and the story–so I skimmed through many of the details and got to the end. my musings

  17. I love series sometimes and hate them other times. I loved and devoured Harry Potter, but I can understand your frustrations with them – there was always so much going on (and sometimes none of it had anything to do with the overall story). But at the end of the day, I don’t mind picking up the first book in a series and digging in to at least give it a try. Sometimes they turn out to be quite wonderful.

  18. I like series for Sci Fi books and some lighter fiction reads since I do not watch tv.

  19. I’m sorry to hear you found the Thursday Next series difficult to get into. It’s one of my favourite series but each to their own. 🙂 Agatha Christie is a great example of both stand-alone and series mixed together. She manages a sense of continuity throughout most of her work – which could be both a curse or a blessing.

Leave a comment