• Current Reads

      Life after Life Jill McCorkle
      This Is Your Captain Speaking Jon Methven
      The Starboard Sea Amber Dermont
      Snark David Denby
      Bring Up the Bodies Hilary Mantel
  • Popular Tags

  • Recent Reflections

  • Categories

  • Moleskine’s All-Time Favorites

  • Echoes

    jrweyrich on Libreria Acqua Alta in Ve…
    Diana @ Thoughts on… on [827] The Luminaries – E…
    The HKIA brings Hong… on [788] Island and Peninsula 島與半…
    Adamos on The Master and Margarita:…
    sumithra MAE on D.H. Lawrence’s Why the…
    To Kill a Mockingbir… on [35] To Kill A Mockingbird…
  • Reminiscences

  • Blog Stats

    • 1,096,325 hits
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,708 other subscribers

Keep the Wheel of Karma Turning

loveawardSandy from You’ve Gotta Read This once again bestowed me an award: Friends Award. I’ve been very grateful for her kindness and support. She’s been commenting on my blog almost everyday. The official definition of the award:

“These blogs are exceedingly charming. These kind bloggers aim to find and be friends. They are not interested in self-aggrandizement. Our hope is that when the ribbons of these prizes are cut, even more friendships are propagated. Please give more attention to these writers. Deliver this award to eight bloggers who must choose eight more and include this cleverly-written text into the body of their award.”

The first thing that comes to mind reading this merit detail is lyric of Colors of the Wind, theme from Pocahontas: And we are all connected to each other. In a circle, in a hoop that never ends.

To keep the wheel of karma turning, I would like to pass this Friends Award to some of my lovely book blogging friends, who have one way or another enriched my experience as a reader and has given me the gift of friendship over the cyberspace. They are all kind, friendly, and cool:

Tuesday in Silhouette. She’s always so thoughtful. Her in-depth reviews often shine new lights on classics works of literature. It’s one of the few blogs whose posts often spark a long discussion thread.
Steph & Tony Investigate!. Another new, noteworthy literary blog of which I have become a member of the claque. The reviews are well-written. Steph also posts some delicious recipes.
Kiss a Cloud. I have been relying on Claire’s blog for new reading ideas and inspiration. She’s another blogger with whom I share common reading taste.
Life in the Thumb. Staci is another new book blogging buddy. The book addict writes very thoughtful posts that help her remember her days and share books with others. Not to mention that her reviews have contributed to the ever staggering book pile!
Musings of a Bookish Kitty. Always so thoughtful and kind, Wendy is the one blogger who really builds up our book blogging community. Recently she began a series called A Page in the Life in which she interviews different bloggers.
The Book Lady’s Blog. Rebecca’s blog encompasses the whole gamut of the book industry from reviews, snippets of the bookstore, interviews, and mystery games.
Bookgirl’s Nightstand. Iliana is among the first bloggers who ever commented on my blog. She’s my old-time buddy! Other than the thoughtful reviews on books, especially mysteries, she also practices bookbinding, journal making, and other book crafts.
Books and other Stuff. Isabel’s blog also gives me many ideas for my next book. Like Iliana, she’s among the first visitors to my blog.

premiosMari from MariReads also bestowed me the Premios Dardo Award. The official definition of the award:

This award acknowledges the values that every blogger shows in his/her effort to transmit cultural, ethical, literary and personal values every day.

In light of the definition, I would like to pass this award on to bloggers whose have shown substantial effort in promoting literature from diverse culture.

51Stores. Lots of European literature in this blog. Recently she has reviewed a book set in Iran.
A Striped Armchair. Eva’s reading challenge is promoting global awareness.
Melody’s Reading Corner. Melody has been posting her travelogues of the trip to Australia.
Reading Room. Gautami is a teacher living in India. She covers books, memes, cultural snippets, and many more in her blog.

Note: I’ll be out of town until Friday. There will be programmed posts but I have to wait until I return to attend your comments.

21 Responses

  1. Aw, thanks Matthew, that’s so sweet 😀
    I’ll be sure to pass this on!

  2. Right, that’s creepy that I just read the Pocahontas quote just as “Colors of the Wind” came up on my shuffle. An odd coincidence…

  3. Thanks for the shout-out, Matt! I really appreciate it and am glad we’re blogging buddies. 🙂

  4. You and C.B. James were one of my first blogging friends when I started this venture. I visit every day and am always well-rewarded!

  5. Matt, this was very kind of you! I’m really glad that you find our site so worthwhile, and I hope to keep it that way! I also really enjoy your site as I find your reviews very insightful and thought-provoking; you’ve given me a lot of food for thought and I’ve added several books to my reading queue due to your wonderful reviews!

  6. Matt.. thank so much!! You know how much I love your blog. (Love the books you choose, too.) And I feel happy to have you as one of my first few blogging buddies! 😀

  7. Matt, I’m blushing…Thanks so much for passing this award on to me 🙂

    I absolutely love your blog. I’m always learning something from your posts and my vocabulary is GROWING exponentially!!! Thanks for being a blogging buddy!!

    Staci

  8. Those awards are well-deserved, Matt!
    Thank you for the Premios Dardo Award! I’m glad we’re blogging friends.

    BTW, I’ve tagged you with a photo meme. 🙂

  9. You deserve those awards Matt! Thank you for sharing the blog love 🙂

    Oh and have fun wherever you are traveling – hope you’ll have pics to share!

  10. This was my initial venture into your wonderful site, and can’t find enough superlatives for it, especially your all time favorites list. I turned to Dostoevsky many times during my lectures, particularly The Grand Inquistor. I will busy myself exploring more of your site and the blogs.

  11. tuesday:
    Being a daily dose for me and a pointer to my reading ideas, you deserve the award! 🙂

  12. Biblibio:
    I’ve always thought the lyrics to the Pocahontas song is very meaningful. 🙂

  13. Rebecca:
    You’re very welcome, not to mention that we have the same blog template! I have enjoyed reading yours. 🙂

  14. Sandy:
    I also have appreciated and enjoyed reading your thoughtful comments. Thank you my friend! 🙂

  15. Steph:
    Thank you so much. Likewise, I have added books that you and Tony have reviewed to my reading list. I’m very glad that I have found your blog. 🙂

  16. claire:
    I feel likewise. Thank you for the insightful reviews and intro to authors I would have otherwise passed. 🙂

  17. Staci:
    Thank you for always leaving thoughtful comments and reviewing wonderful books that I would not have picked up. You are also an inspiration. 🙂

  18. Melody:
    I’ll head over to yours to check out the meme. 🙂

  19. iliana:
    I went to Las Vegas and couldn’t believe, other than gambling and the whole gamut of pleasures that people indulge in, how much I enjoy the sheer beauty of the city.

  20. frank marsh:
    I find Grand Inquisitor very difficult to understand, that each reading of the book only afford a deeper layer of understanding. Classics are really meant for re-reading aren’t they?

  21. I am finally giving my prize on.

    Thanks for the nomination.

    You are special also!

Leave a comment