• Current Reads

      Life after Life Jill McCorkle
      This Is Your Captain Speaking Jon Methven
      The Starboard Sea Amber Dermont
      Snark David Denby
      Bring Up the Bodies Hilary Mantel
  • Popular Tags

  • Recent Reflections

  • Categories

  • Moleskine’s All-Time Favorites

  • Echoes

    jrweyrich on Libreria Acqua Alta in Ve…
    Diana @ Thoughts on… on [827] The Luminaries – E…
    The HKIA brings Hong… on [788] Island and Peninsula 島與半…
    Adamos on The Master and Margarita:…
    sumithra MAE on D.H. Lawrence’s Why the…
    To Kill a Mockingbir… on [35] To Kill A Mockingbird…
  • Reminiscences

  • Blog Stats

    • 1,096,395 hits
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,708 other subscribers

Tokens of Good Karma


I received this awesome award from Beth at Beth Fish Reads and Gautami at Reading Room. They are both very avid readers (and more prolific than me) whose blogs I read often for reading ideas and interesting memes. If you haven’t seen their book blogs yet, go check them out.

This award acknowledges the values that every blogger shows in his or her effort to transmit cultural, ethical, literary, and personal values every day. The rules to follow are:

1) Accept the award, post it on your blog together with the name of the person who has granted the award and his or her blog link.

2) Pass the award to 15 (actually 10) other blogs that are worthy of this acknowledgment. Remember to contact the bloggers to let them know they have been chosen for this award.

First of all, I’m very grateful for the awards given to me. I’m very thankful for this awesome book blogging community, which if you haven’t noticed has coalesced into a strong voice in not just the opinions on books released but in influencing what publishers might release. I would like to spread this token of recognition, and karma to bloggers who thrive in their bookish silence and discipline. I have decided to give this accolade to blogs that I haven’t had a chance to nominate in I Heart Your Blogs. Let’s have a roll of drum for these excellent blogs:

Biblio Addict. Always thoughtful and well-written, this blog is the reflection of a reader who although, is not a prolific reader, but whose opinion must count.

Bookey Wookey. This is an ongoing reader’s diary that captures essences of a neuroscience student’s reading. It’s an inspiration to me because of the amount of reading and the depth to which he cultivates are just amazing. Middlemarch this year okay, Ted?

Tuesday in Silhouette. Another thoughtful blog that mirrors my reading taste: Classics, literary fiction, and historical fiction.

People Reading. This is our very own People Reading blog in San Francisco, which shows pictures of San Franciscans reading on the run. I’m surprised she hasn’t bumped into me yet.

Ready When You Are C.B.. Another blog in my neck of the wood. I have always enjoyed C.B.’s reviews on genres ranging from short stories to pulp fiction, gay literature, and classics. I give this blogger the credit for making me read more short stories.

Rob Around Books. The latest addition to my blogroll. This well-designed and informative blog is like a book emporium with feature stories, reviews and snippets of the book industry. Get lost in it if you haven’t had seen it.

Bookstack. Another well-written, interesting blog of a ravenous reader. Seriously, ravenous is in her blog url!

Musings of a Bookish Kitty. The amazing blog, full of reviews, bookish snippets, challenges, and anecdotes is probably one of the most organized in the community. I remembered reading it for the first time and thought this is what I wanted my blog to become.

Wordy. [Chinese language] My friend’s blog is my daily syndicate of happenings in Hong Kong. He blogs about films, books, local culture, and most importantly, my one and only, Sandy Lam.

Literary License. “Short, thoughtful reviews with real opinions, leaving you more time to read the books.” It couldn’t be said better.

24 Responses

  1. I love Wendy’s blog too–Musings of a Bookish Kitty!!

    I came across your blog via Weekly Geeks.

  2. Aw, someone beat me to it. I awarded it to you too, so you get a double award, I suppose 🙂

  3. First of all, I can’t think of a more worthy recipient of this award. You are a truly talented writer and blogger. I look forward to reading your blog every day. I also applaud your awarding James and Wendy. They are also fabulous blogs. Congrats Matt!

  4. Congratulations on your award. You deserve it. Thanks also for some leads on more great blogs. Now that my computer has been fixed, I’m back in the saddle again. It feels nice to get back in touch with my favorite blogs.

  5. Ooops, someone beat me to the punch! I gave you an award. Go to my blog to see!

  6. Very well-deserved! Guess what? I’ve passed you the same award too! 🙂

  7. I agree with the bloggers. The award is very well-deserved. I’m sure I’ll benefit from reading all your book recommendation in the future. Congratulations, Matt!

  8. The great thing about this award is clicking through to discover new blogs. Bask in your dual award!

  9. Thank you very much. I am quite flattered. Best of luck in the new semester, too.

  10. Staci:
    Thanks for stopping by. See Wendy’s influence? 🙂

  11. tuesday:
    Thank you so much for the award, and the kind word you’ve said on your post. 🙂

  12. Sandy:
    I have never thought that a mean to organize my thoughts of books will become a forum for fellow book bloggers. I’m happy to have all of you abroad. Thank you again! 🙂

  13. Jennifer:
    This blog has been an awesome journey to reach out to other like-minded bloggers, as well as to expand my reading. I’m looking forward to contributing a bit to build this community. Thank you again. 🙂

  14. marie:
    Thank you for the award! I’m most excited that what started as my way to organize my thoughts of books have become quite a forum with all of you. 🙂

  15. Melody:
    Thank you so much! I should toast everyone who has received this award. Looks like it’s been going around. I have enjoyed our book discussion. 🙂

  16. Beth F:
    Thank you for your generosity. It’s been great discovering all of you and talking about books! 🙂

  17. CB James:
    Thank you so much James. I’m still (so sorry for the delay) working for the second piece on Crime and Punishment, which I’ll teach this semester. 🙂

  18. John:
    Thank you my fan! LOL How about lunch sometime?

  19. Matt, thank you so much! I’m quite honored to be included in such illustrious company 🙂

  20. becca:
    Likewise! Thank you for the inspiration! 🙂

  21. Matt, I speechless. Thank you so much for your kind words. And here, I’ve been thinking the same thing about your blog. Thank you.

  22. Thank you, Matt! I am flattered. Yes indeed, Middlemarch it is. I will try to get to my nominees and posting tonight or possibly tomorrow (Wed) morning.

  23. Wendy:
    Thank you for being an inspiration. 🙂

  24. Ted:
    I’m scheduling Middlemarch in a way so I can commit to reading bits of it everyday. 🙂

Leave a comment