• Current Reads

      Life after Life Jill McCorkle
      This Is Your Captain Speaking Jon Methven
      The Starboard Sea Amber Dermont
      Snark David Denby
      Bring Up the Bodies Hilary Mantel
  • Popular Tags

  • Recent Reflections

  • Categories

  • Moleskine’s All-Time Favorites

  • Echoes

    jrweyrich on Libreria Acqua Alta in Ve…
    Diana @ Thoughts on… on [827] The Luminaries – E…
    The HKIA brings Hong… on [788] Island and Peninsula 島與半…
    Adamos on The Master and Margarita:…
    sumithra MAE on D.H. Lawrence’s Why the…
    To Kill a Mockingbir… on [35] To Kill A Mockingbird…
  • Reminiscences

  • Blog Stats

    • 1,096,395 hits
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,708 other subscribers

LibraryThing Titles & Statistics


This week’s question: -LibraryThing’s Recently Added feature: do you look at it? Do you use it for ideas? Is there something listed there now that looks interesting to you? What have you added to your LT library recently?

My head is in the cloud when it comes to LibraryThing (online book cataloging tool) features. I feel like I’m the last person on earth to have learned about them. The answer is no, but I do browse other people’s libraries and see what they have added to the virtual bookshelves for ideas. I belong to the lowest tier of membership so there is a cap of 200 books to be listed under my account. Anyway, I thought it would be interesting to list the books in my library that are most popular among LT members (boldfaced are favorites):


1. [22397] Pride and Prejudice (Penguin Classics), Jane Austen
2. [22164] 1984, George Orwell
3. [21140] The Catcher in the Rye, J.D. Salinger
4. [14653] Angels and Demons, Dan Brown
5. [14337] Wuthering Heights, Emily Bronte
6. [13962] One Hundred Years of Solitude, Gabriel Garcia Marquez
7. [13328] The Time Traveler’s Wife, Audrey Niffenegger
8. [13316] Memoirs of a Geisha: A Novel, Arthur Golden
9. [12527] Crime and Punishment, Fyodor Dostoevsky
10. [10478] Anna Karenina, Leo Tolstoy
11. [10139] Great Expectations (Penguin Classics), Charles Dickens
12. [10101] The Iliad, Homer
13. [9038] The Name of the Rose, Umberto Eco
14. [8810] A Tale of Two Cities, Charles Dickens
15. [8670] Atonement : A Novel, Ian McEwan
16. [8488] Love in the Time of Cholera, Gabriel Garcia Marquez
17. [8303] The Brothers Karamazov, Fyodor Dostoevsky
18. [7644] The Unbearable Lightness of Being : A Novel, Milan Kundera
19. [7111] The Tipping Point: How Little Things Can Make a Big Difference, Malcolm Gladwell
20. [7078] War and Peace, Leo Tolstoy

The five “least social,” or eclectic, titles of mine:
1. [9] Escape from China : The Long Journey From Tiananmen to Freedom, Zhang Boli
2. [13] Michelangelo : A Biography, George Bull
3. [16] The Civilization of Angkor, Charles Higham
4. [18] We Are What We Eat : Ethnic Food and the Making of Americans, Donna R. Gabaccia
5. [21] Shadow of a Man, May Sarton

186 Number of books
179 Number of distinct works
629/2,749 Median/mean book obscurity (number of users who have books in mycollection)

6 Responses

  1. I was very definitely not going to “move up” to a paid membership when I first joined LibraryThing. But I only managed to hold out a couple of months before I was hooked, and just had to add more than 200 books. I have mixed emotions now – I enjoy it, but I know it really is an addiction!

  2. I never persevered with it I’m afraid – it all takes too much time and energy!

  3. I should really play with LibraryThing more often. I got sucked in by Shelfari and Goodreads long ago and never really gave it its due!

  4. Joy:
    I love to see how my collection compares to others’. I think @25 for life is a great deal except I just have a hard time keeping up with their new features!

  5. seachanges:
    I rather spend time reading! 🙂

  6. Andi:
    I recently discovered Shelfari as well but I just can’t keep up! 🙂

Leave a comment