• Current Reads

      Life after Life Jill McCorkle
      This Is Your Captain Speaking Jon Methven
      The Starboard Sea Amber Dermont
      Snark David Denby
      Bring Up the Bodies Hilary Mantel
  • Popular Tags

  • Recent Reflections

  • Categories

  • Moleskine’s All-Time Favorites

  • Echoes

    amaryllisturman on [836] The Girl on the Train…
    Andrea on [829] Inferno – Dan…
    Matthew on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Anokatony on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Matthew on The King’s English Books…
    Katie Marie on The King’s English Books…
  • Reminiscences

  • Blog Stats

    • 997,316 hits
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,723 other followers

Reading Garth Stein’s A Sudden Light

A multi-family mystery. A meditation to the love of books. A tale of forbidden love. A house with hidden chambers and secret passages. I cannot really nail the book yet but the narrative voice is interesting—a teenager

“I approached the seam, and saw it was a hidden door with the same wallpaper and paneling as the corridor, so, unless you knew where to look, you wouldn’t see it. I opened it to reveal an empty linen closet with a dangling chain. I pulled the chain, and a light came on, but the closet shelves were empty. I noticed a small ring flush with the back wall, just about waist height. I flicked at it with my finger and it popped up. I lifted it and twisted and it clicked. It was a teeny door latch. I pulled, and the back wall of the closet swung toward me with a great, yawning, vacuous sound, as if I were opening a tomb.” (Ch.15, 119)

Is it meant to be a ghost story? Probably. But so far what draws me is the family’s struggle to connect with one another in a beautifully rendered setting in the Pacific Northwest.

Leave a Reply

