• Current Reads

      Life after Life Jill McCorkle
      This Is Your Captain Speaking Jon Methven
      The Starboard Sea Amber Dermont
      Snark David Denby
      Bring Up the Bodies Hilary Mantel
  • Popular Tags

  • Recent Reflections

  • Categories

  • Moleskine’s All-Time Favorites

  • Echoes

    Matthew on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Anokatony on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Matthew on The King’s English Books…
    Katie Marie on The King’s English Books…
    lazyhaze on Reading Kafka’s “T…
    Buried In Print on Reading Kafka’s “T…
  • Reminiscences

  • Blog Stats

    • 991,230 hits
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,662 other followers

Experiment

A New York artist left a stack of books unattended in the subway station to see how books might connect people from all over the world and various stations in life. Each stack has a note that reads: “Take a book. Any book. When you finish, email the artist.”

I have done similar thing but not to that scale. I simply left books in my neighborhood library (wooden cabinet of books on a tree). I left a bookmark with my email address printed on it inside each book, in the hopes that I’ll hear back from whomever decided to pick that book up.

I did the same when I traveled. I left the books I finished in guesthouses and coffee shops with a bookmark on which my email address is printed. Over the years I have received emails from people all over the world. Printed words help us refocus and reflect on our own in this digital and fast age.

3 Responses

  1. That funny feeling you get when you did something first, nobody cared, but now everybody celebrates a large-scale copy-cat?

  2. Reblogged this on 40+/Single/Clueless and commented:
    Yes they do!

  3. I leave books in the neighbourhood all the time, but never thought of including my email address – brilliant idea. Will do that now🙂

Leave a Reply

