• Current Reads

      Life after Life Jill McCorkle
      This Is Your Captain Speaking Jon Methven
      The Starboard Sea Amber Dermont
      Snark David Denby
      Bring Up the Bodies Hilary Mantel
  • Popular Tags

  • Recent Reflections

  • Categories

  • Moleskine’s All-Time Favorites

  • Echoes

    Andrea on [829] Inferno – Dan…
    Matthew on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Anokatony on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Matthew on The King’s English Books…
    Katie Marie on The King’s English Books…
    lazyhaze on Reading Kafka’s “T…
  • Reminiscences

  • Blog Stats

    • 997,232 hits
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,722 other followers

On Thanksgiving

The New York Review of Books publishes, in observance of Thanksgiving, an article on gastronomic youth. Just because we grew up on bad food doesn’t mean we aren’t nostalgic of it. “Bad” not in the sense of junk food but probably not what you’ll find at Whole Foods. Some of the best food is that which invokes memories of childhood. For me it was the fish balls on a skewer sold by a street vendor outside the school. At the final bell kids ran berserk out the gate and hogged the cart of fish balls in piping hot broth. The other favorite is a waffle layered with spoonful of sugar, melted peanut butter and condensed milk. Another gourmet delicacy is this flaky pastry with egg custard filling. I was just talking with my friends about how the first meal I take when I visit my home in Hong Kong is a mix of street food and comfort food. What defines your gastronomic youth?

4 Responses

  1. I could make a meal out of chocolate ice cream.

  2. Sadly, my father used to make these Tibetan dumplings but he never shared the recipe or seemed to want to show me how to make them so they died with him this past February. I used to be able to make similar ones but now that I am gluten free, the dough is just not right. I long for those dumplings.

    I also remember this horrible spaghetti that the cafeteria made. It was all mushy and mashed up but cheesy and hot and I remember running to the cafeteria to get that one a month.

    • Oh my! I think I had tasted Tibetan dumplings in Szechuan province, which is a base for any visitors heading to the high altitude of Tibet. Those were so good! I should search for the recipe when I go to Asia this time. I’ll keep you posted.

      The horrible spaghetti ever was Disneyland. I guess amusement park food in general is nothing to call home about. But the Disneyland rendition of spaghetti was just bad. It was bland and watery. Ugh!

Leave a Reply

