• Current Reads

      Life after Life Jill McCorkle
      This Is Your Captain Speaking Jon Methven
      The Starboard Sea Amber Dermont
      Snark David Denby
      Bring Up the Bodies Hilary Mantel
  • Popular Tags

  • Recent Reflections

  • Categories

  • Moleskine’s All-Time Favorites

  • Echoes

    Matthew on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Anokatony on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Matthew on The King’s English Books…
    Katie Marie on The King’s English Books…
    lazyhaze on Reading Kafka’s “T…
    Buried In Print on Reading Kafka’s “T…
  • Reminiscences

  • Blog Stats

    • 991,747 hits
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,666 other followers

Reading Sarah Waters

image

With Sarah Waters I know I am in for a twist, but I’m not prepared for a suspense that has my heart in my mouth. I know it’s a historical fiction portraying the lives of women after the First World War in England—how women across all the social classes struggling to make ends meet as they lost the pillars of economic support to the war. The inhabitants of a genteel house in this novel are taking in tenants in order to support household expenses. The arrival of a young couple brings unsettling things to the house: lively music, colorful clothing, fun and laughter. But the ordinary co-existent lives have life-changing consequence that nobody would have expected. At this crucial turn of event, the book becomes a darker tale that really keeps me on the edge. Totally unexpected, so timely for Halloween—even my cat cannot keep his paws off this one!

6 Responses

  1. I love love love Sarah Waters and now you also for liking her books😉 Greetings from Germany … and Happy spooky Halloween.

  2. ohhh and read “The Little Stranger” by Waters even more spooky and perfect for Halloween.

  3. Loved the book, love your cat – she looks very much like our Lily.

  4. I have had this one forever. Now I really want to read it. Your cat is cute, by the way😉

  5. This book has been hanging out in a library Pickup bag for a week. I guess I should rescue it.

  6. I’ve loved all of her books and The Paying Guests is one of my favourites along with Fingersmith.

Leave a Reply

