• Current Reads

      Life after Life Jill McCorkle
      This Is Your Captain Speaking Jon Methven
      The Starboard Sea Amber Dermont
      Snark David Denby
      Bring Up the Bodies Hilary Mantel
  • Popular Tags

  • Recent Reflections

  • Categories

  • Moleskine’s All-Time Favorites

  • Echoes

    Matthew on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Anokatony on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Matthew on The King’s English Books…
    Katie Marie on The King’s English Books…
    lazyhaze on Reading Kafka’s “T…
    Buried In Print on Reading Kafka’s “T…
  • Reminiscences

  • Blog Stats

    • 991,755 hits
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,666 other followers

A Weekend of Reading

image

1. Many readers on Goodreads said Nancy Drew series is their favorite in mystery genre. I didn’t grow up in the United States and had no idea Nancy Drew was a fictional character! I went to my local indie and asked for books by Nancy Drew. Ha!

2. I was looking for one book but ended up bringing home three that I didn’t expect to love. I learn a lot from H. G. Wells who really has fizzle and pop in his writing. He keeps me engrossed in what I thought was boring and dry in high school—world history and ancient civilization. Now I know the Aryans, the Assyrians, the Semitic, the Hellenics, the Gauls, and the Romans like the back of my hand. I like how he gives you the plain facts with no embellishments or elaborations. And he bridges over different empires of the same era.

3. Lately I have been on a history binge. Reading history also provokes that travel bug in me. One of the most rewarding thing about travel is to get to know the history and the people. I’m excited to read about Egypt in The Culture of Ancient Egypt and travel soon.

4. It’s great to read Naguib Mahfouz!

2 Responses

  1. I absolutely loved Nancy Drew a while back, went through all of the books!

    • Now I know the author is Carolyn Keene and she wrote 64 books in the Nancy Drew series. The shop clerk couldn’t help laughing when I asked her for the author named Nancy Drew. Ha!

Leave a Reply

