• Current Reads

      Life after Life Jill McCorkle
      This Is Your Captain Speaking Jon Methven
      The Starboard Sea Amber Dermont
      Snark David Denby
      Bring Up the Bodies Hilary Mantel
  • Popular Tags

  • Recent Reflections

  • Categories

  • Moleskine’s All-Time Favorites

  • Echoes

    Matthew on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Anokatony on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Matthew on The King’s English Books…
    Katie Marie on The King’s English Books…
    lazyhaze on Reading Kafka’s “T…
    Buried In Print on Reading Kafka’s “T…
  • Reminiscences

  • Blog Stats

    • 991,785 hits
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,666 other followers

Disguised Gender

Do you have a preference for male or female writers? An interesting article on Guardian explores how male writers who hide their gender to attract female readers, as supposed to the opposite. Women writers have long disguised their gender hoping to get taken seriously. Why do you think the trend has revered? Because more serious readers are women now?

4 Responses

  1. That’s interesting… Many roles have reversed in the last decades, although I think that women have actually joined men in some roles rather than those having reversed. For instance, yes, women do smoke more than men nowadays, but women writers who want to appeal to a wide audience still disguise their name. A good example would be JK Rowling.

  2. That IS an interesting question! I think there is a bias against authors trying to write in the voice of minority characters…I know, women are not a minority per se, but do you think that has anything to do with it? (Wally Lamb comes to mind.) I vowed in college–during the full blaze of the second wave of feminism–only to read women writers and stuck to that for years, but have gradually come to the place where I want to read GOOD writers, nothing else withstanding! Thanks for a thought-provoking post.

  3. For me, and I realize this probably quite unfair, I dislike reading men who write from a female character’s point of view and vice versa. There’s something off, something unbelievable, about it to me. Except for Tolstoy. He could write about Anna beautifully. Oh, and Flaubert with Emma. Never mind, I guess my point of view concerns the 21st century writers…

  4. I don’t have a preference as long as what they do, they do it well. I read a book recently and by the author’s name, I did not know if the author was male or female but after reading it, and it was about a female protag, I knew he was male and I was write. Although, I thought he did an excellent job writing from a female POV. She just seemed more no-nonsense which for some reason tipped me off.

Leave a Reply

