• Current Reads

      Life after Life Jill McCorkle
      This Is Your Captain Speaking Jon Methven
      The Starboard Sea Amber Dermont
      Snark David Denby
      Bring Up the Bodies Hilary Mantel
  • Popular Tags

  • Recent Reflections

  • Categories

  • Moleskine’s All-Time Favorites

  • Echoes

    Matthew on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Anokatony on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Matthew on The King’s English Books…
    Katie Marie on The King’s English Books…
    lazyhaze on Reading Kafka’s “T…
    Buried In Print on Reading Kafka’s “T…
  • Reminiscences

  • Blog Stats

    • 991,408 hits
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,663 other followers

Summer Reading Poll

image

It’s summer and many people are taking summer vacation. I usually take my big annual vacation in winter but since I work in an academic institution, the administrative holidays in summer make it possible to sneak away from about a week. Goodreads recently releases a summer reading poll:

1. How many books do you typically bring on vacation?
I bring 3-4 to last me through an one-week vacation. I make sure I have a good read to see me through the flight if I’m going overseas. Next month I’ll be traveling to Europe for two weeks so I’ve already had a good book lined up for the flight. Of course, I can always buy more along the way!

2. What type of books do you read on vacation?
Vacation or not, I usually stick with paperbacks. I’m not ready to make the complete transition to e-books yet—I like to mark my books.

3. How long is your ideal vacation read?
I try to keep it under 400 pages. Wen I’m on vacation I tend to be more outdoor doing things, sightseeing, and hiking. My reading time is inevitably compromised and I need a book with a tight plot that holds my attention.

4. What genres do you read on vacation?
I read about the same thing I read at home: literary fiction, mystery, and history. I’m not a huge fan of fluffy beachy reads but I do prefer book with good plots.

5. Where do you usually read during summer?
Usually by the pool or at the beach. But it looks like I’ll do lots of reading in the garden or on the sidewalk in France.

2 Responses

  1. What is your European flight book?

    • Hi Jessica. It will be “Bricktop’s Paris: African American Women in Paris Between the Two World Wars”. I am looking forward to reading it because it’s an alternative to the mainstream literature on Paris.

Leave a Reply

