• Current Reads

      Life after Life Jill McCorkle
      This Is Your Captain Speaking Jon Methven
      The Starboard Sea Amber Dermont
      Snark David Denby
      Bring Up the Bodies Hilary Mantel
  • Popular Tags

  • Recent Reflections

  • Categories

  • Moleskine’s All-Time Favorites

  • Echoes

    Matthew on [836] The Girl on the Train…
    amaryllisturman on [836] The Girl on the Train…
    Andrea on [829] Inferno – Dan…
    Matthew on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Anokatony on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Matthew on The King’s English Books…
  • Reminiscences

  • Blog Stats

    • 997,769 hits
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,729 other followers

Atlas + Oreo

image

As soon as I turned the last page of Atlas Shrugged, I started from the beginning to read the first chapter. I should have known the significance when a chapter is titled “The Theme.” I just didn’t register at first. I consider reading and finishing the book a paramount achievement. It’s one of those books whose philosophy that you don’t necessarily agree with in full but that it provokes you to think. Finishing this book justifies taking a break from reading—for a day.

Another reason for this break is the lack of luck in finding a copy of Oreo by Fran Ross, a satire of racial identity that was ignored during its era. Published in 1974, the book had disappeared as quickly as it had appeared. It certainly didn’t speak to the wider cultural landscape of the moment. I really like to get a copy and read for myself.

6 Responses

  1. FYI — Oreo is available from several sellers on EBAY.

  2. Yes, provoked to think. I am spending almost as much time bouncing ideas and commentaries on Atlas Shrugged as I am reading the darn thing. Now I will search for Oreo.

    • Haha! I was very intimidated about Atlas Shrugged. But the story pulled me in right away. I liked the compelling story and the woven social commentary.

  3. Look at your notes!! My, my. Impressive. I highlighted stuff on my Kindle but not nearly as much as you have here.

    • I scribbled as I read along, making sure I’ve got the page references down so I can re-read the highlighted passages later. 🙂

Leave a Reply

