• Current Reads

      Life after Life Jill McCorkle
      This Is Your Captain Speaking Jon Methven
      The Starboard Sea Amber Dermont
      Snark David Denby
      Bring Up the Bodies Hilary Mantel
  • Popular Tags

  • Recent Reflections

  • Categories

  • Moleskine’s All-Time Favorites

  • Echoes

    Matthew on [836] The Girl on the Train…
    amaryllisturman on [836] The Girl on the Train…
    Andrea on [829] Inferno – Dan…
    Matthew on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Anokatony on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Matthew on The King’s English Books…
  • Reminiscences

  • Blog Stats

    • 997,769 hits
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,729 other followers

Harper Lee Hooha

1goset

An article in The Guardian says Harper Lee might have written a third book. Ever Tonja Carter discovered the manuscript of Go Set a Watchman in the autumn of 2014, I have been longing to read the new book. But the twists of events after the announcement of its publication, which is tomorrow, have made me very skeptical about reading the new book. At this point I’m not even interested in this second “novel” which to my impression, is just an early draft of a story that was never intended to see the light of day. The manuscript was said to be affixed to the draft of To Kill A Mockingbird. I believe Harper Lee told the story she intended to tell in To Kill A Mockingbird. Interesting that with Harper Lee incapacitated, lawyers and publishing agents are suddenly finding new manuscripts. Are we to believe that her material hadn’t really gone through in 40 years or longer? The whole business is very dubious. Greed. Greed. Greed. The money grubbing is got to stop. It makes me angry all the more that Goodreads falls into this muck that the rest of media is producing. I refuse to buy the second book, and this talk of a third just makes me scoff. This is a despicable circus of the money grubbers’ doing.

3 Responses

  1. I heard something about how the new book makes Atticus look bad. Well, specifically, that it makes him a racist. How can that even be??? I won’t buy it either but if I get a copy from the library, I may glance at it.

  2. Matthew … You’ve just said exactly what I was thinking … Richard [UK]

  3. Its definitely all about the benjamins. I’ve never read Mockingbird (just didn’t like the first few pages I read so I gave up on it) and I definitely don’t plan on reading this new novel or the possible third.

Leave a Reply

