• Current Reads

      Life after Life Jill McCorkle
      This Is Your Captain Speaking Jon Methven
      The Starboard Sea Amber Dermont
      Snark David Denby
      Bring Up the Bodies Hilary Mantel
  • Popular Tags

  • Recent Reflections

  • Categories

  • Moleskine’s All-Time Favorites

  • Echoes

    Matthew on [836] The Girl on the Train…
    amaryllisturman on [836] The Girl on the Train…
    Andrea on [829] Inferno – Dan…
    Matthew on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Anokatony on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Matthew on The King’s English Books…
  • Reminiscences

  • Blog Stats

    • 997,769 hits
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,729 other followers

Lazy Sunday Reads

image

It’s Sunday, a week before the long 4th-of-July weekend. I have to regroup and finish current readings in time for the Atlas Shrugged read-along scheduled to begin on Wednesday 1st of July. I’ll schlep the door stopper with me to Arizona for the long weekend. It would be fun to sit in the pool and chill out with the book.

I’m about halfway through We Are Not Ourselves and am feeling slightly stuck. It’s not a plot-driven but an intimate scrutiny of a family in which husband and wife are not on the same footing in their aspiration to the stakes of American Dream. The writing is superb but my mind can be less patient than what the author is revealing on his pace. So when I feel stuck, I put it down and read a tale from Grimm’s Fairy Tales! The kitty also reminds me to take a break too! He would sit on the book and demand pampering!

2 Responses

  1. Yes!! July 1st is right around the corner and so is Atlas Shrugged!! I am all geared-up and ready to start.

    • Me too! I’m so excited you’re hosting this one because if it’s not for you I won’t have bit the bullet! I’m on the last 100 pages of We Are Not Ourselves—right on schedule!

Leave a Reply

