• Current Reads

      Life after Life Jill McCorkle
      This Is Your Captain Speaking Jon Methven
      The Starboard Sea Amber Dermont
      Snark David Denby
      Bring Up the Bodies Hilary Mantel
  • Popular Tags

  • Recent Reflections

  • Categories

  • Moleskine’s All-Time Favorites

  • Echoes

    Matthew on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Anokatony on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Matthew on The King’s English Books…
    Katie Marie on The King’s English Books…
    lazyhaze on Reading Kafka’s “T…
    Buried In Print on Reading Kafka’s “T…
  • Reminiscences

  • Blog Stats

    • 991,221 hits
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,662 other followers

Famous Last Words

image

What are some of your favorite final lines of novels? I took a quiz of these final lines. Some I got lucky, others I knew by heart, and still others I guessed by elimination. The ones I missed are marked red.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

‘It is a far, far better thing that I do, than I have ever done; it is a far, far better place that I go to than I have ever known.’

‘Poo-tee-weet?’

‘He loved Big Brother.’

‘Take. Bussoftlhee, mememormee! Till thousendsthee. Lps. The keys to. Given! A way a lone a last a loved a long the’

‘The sun is but a morning star.’

‘He sleeps. Although his fate was very strange, he lived. He died when he had no longer his angel. The thing came to pass simply, of itself, as the night comes when day is gone.’

‘So we beat on, boats against the current, borne back ceaselessly into the past.’

‘The knife came down, missing him by inches, and he took off.’

‘After all, tomorrow is another day.’

‘Isn’t it pretty to think so?’

‘Yes, she thought, laying down her brush in extreme fatigue, I have had my vision.’

‘Old father, old artificer, stand me now and ever in good stead.’

‘…how she would feel with all their simple sorrows, and find a pleasure in all their simple joys, remembering her own child-life, and the happy summer days.’

‘…but we must cultivate our garden.’

‘As you from crimes would pardoned be, Let your indulgence set me free.’

‘But, in spite of these deficiencies, the wishes, the hopes, the confidence, the predictions of the small band of true friends who witnessed the ceremony, were fully answered in the perfect happiness of the union.’

‘It was the devious-cruising Rachel, that in her retracing search after her missing children, only found another orphan.’

‘…you must go on, I can’t go on, I’ll go on.’

‘The creatures outside looked from pig to man, and from man to pig, and from pig to man again; but already it was impossible to say which was which.’

”Like a dog!’ he said, it was as if the shame of it must outlive him.’

‘His face had an expression of calm, as though almost glad the end had come.’

‘He was soon borne away by the waves, and lost in darkness and distance.’

‘Who knows but that, on the lower frequencies, I speak for you?’

‘I lingered round them, under that benign sky; watched the moths fluttering among the heath, and hare-bells; listened to the soft wind breathing through the grass; and wondered how any one could ever imagine unquiet slumbers for the sleepers in that quiet earth.’

‘For everything to be consummated, for me to feel less alone, I had only to wish that there be a large crowd of spectators the day of my execution and that they greet me with cries of hate.’

‘And I have by me, for my comfort, two strange white flowers –shrivelled now, and brown and flat and brittle–to witness that even when mind and strength had gone, gratitude and a mutual tenderness still lived on in the heart of man.’

”You can trust me,’ R.V. said, watching her hand. ‘I’m a man of my’

‘So much of life in its meshes! She called in her soul to come and see.’

‘That might be the subject of a new story, but our present story is ended.’

Leave a Reply

