• Current Reads

      Life after Life Jill McCorkle
      This Is Your Captain Speaking Jon Methven
      The Starboard Sea Amber Dermont
      Snark David Denby
      Bring Up the Bodies Hilary Mantel
  • Popular Tags

  • Recent Reflections

  • Categories

  • Moleskine’s All-Time Favorites

  • Echoes

    Matthew on [836] The Girl on the Train…
    amaryllisturman on [836] The Girl on the Train…
    Andrea on [829] Inferno – Dan…
    Matthew on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Anokatony on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Matthew on The King’s English Books…
  • Reminiscences

  • Blog Stats

    • 997,769 hits
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,729 other followers

Some Habits

Catching up with some writing prompts from Booking Through Thursday.

Do you read books recommended by friends? Or do you prefer to find your own books to read.
I’m reading Preparation for the Next Life by Atticus Lish recommended by a friend. A recent winner of the PEN/Faulkner Award, it’s so realistic of a book that makes me skip a breath. An illegal immigrant from China meets ex-American warrior ravaged by three tours in Iraq. As to friends’ recommendation, I would make a note of them. I’ll check the books out to see if they are up my alley. Book bloggers’ recommendations have played a crucial role in my reading life.

Do you carry a book around with you? Inside the house? Whenever you go out? Always, everywhere, it’s practically glued to your fingers?
I’m glued to my book wherever I go. Ever seen people glued to their phones, wiping the screens with their fingers, frantically texting, playing Candy Crush? While they’re riveted at the phones, I’m reading. Books make the perfect time filler, whether I’m taking a break or waiting for someone.

In an ideal world, what kind of book cases would you have? Built-ins? Barrister ones with glass doors? The cheapest you could find so you could have lots of them?
I would like floor-to-ceiling bookshelves made of cherry wood. They don’t have to be glass-in. In my condo I have built-in shelf lining one wall and I love it too. I prefer the bookshelves to be uniform in appearance.

Hardcovers or paperbacks?
Hands down paperbacks. Ever shove a hardback under your armpit? Trade paperbacks are much more handy. They don’t take up as much space on the shelf and in my bag.

Leave a Reply

