• Current Reads

      Life after Life Jill McCorkle
      This Is Your Captain Speaking Jon Methven
      The Starboard Sea Amber Dermont
      Snark David Denby
      Bring Up the Bodies Hilary Mantel
  • Popular Tags

  • Recent Reflections

  • Categories

  • Moleskine’s All-Time Favorites

  • Echoes

    Matthew on [836] The Girl on the Train…
    amaryllisturman on [836] The Girl on the Train…
    Andrea on [829] Inferno – Dan…
    Matthew on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Anokatony on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Matthew on The King’s English Books…
  • Reminiscences

  • Blog Stats

    • 997,769 hits
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,729 other followers

Celebrate Handwriting

imageLast Saturday was National Handwriting Day, but for me everyday is a handwriting day. I write into my reading journey and keep notes. I could have done it on my iPad but I just prefer scribbling thoughts down as I read. In my bag I have at least two black-in pens in case I lose one or it runs out of ink. I just bought a new journal as shown in the picture. It’s a local Thai-made one with very flexible binding so I can roll the whole thing over without damaging the spine. At home or travel, my bag is not complete without a pen and a notebook.

7 Responses

  1. You’re handwriting is really. I wish I could write like that.

  2. Nice handwriting. I miss the feel. Giving up the already-typed-up nature of tablet notes is too much to bear though.

  3. Your note taking hand writing is impressive. I like the grid style journal you use.

  4. People say I have nice “teacher” handwriting, but yours is amazing. I can tell I type way more than I write because my hand cramps just jotting down in my reading journal the books I’ve read the past month. It’s like a use it or lose it muscle I guess! I should do more handwriting. Maybe I will incorporate some into my art. That would be cool.

  5. Your handwriting is as lovely as you are! I do think the neatness and style of a person’s handwriting is, to a large extent, proportionate to his/her language ability and literary skills.

  6. In my youth, I wrote thousands of pages of journals in hardcopy books. Now, I cannot write a one-line note with a pen that I can read later. I cannot even think creatively without a keyboard. My fingers on a keyboard, and things come out of my head smoothly. If I only have a pen, nothing flows.

    That is not in the spirit of your post, and I don’t really miss handwriting. Hopefully, there will always be keyboards for me.

  7. My book journal that I’ve had since 2010 recently got ruined in a rainstorm (backpack not zipped up properly) and I had to buy a new one and re-record all my reads. Every day is handwriting day for me. Ouch.

Leave a Reply

