• Current Reads

      Life after Life Jill McCorkle
      This Is Your Captain Speaking Jon Methven
      The Starboard Sea Amber Dermont
      Snark David Denby
      Bring Up the Bodies Hilary Mantel
  • Popular Tags

  • Recent Reflections

  • Categories

  • Moleskine’s All-Time Favorites

  • Echoes

    Matthew on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Anokatony on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Matthew on The King’s English Books…
    Katie Marie on The King’s English Books…
    lazyhaze on Reading Kafka’s “T…
    Buried In Print on Reading Kafka’s “T…
  • Reminiscences

  • Blog Stats

    • 991,206 hits
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,662 other followers

Akashic Noir Series

1noir

I first saw these beautiful noir series books in my local bookstore. I. however, didn’t give much thought to them at first until recently, when a member of my book club suggested that we should pick a couple books for our upcoming discussion. The international editions appeal to me because they almost always feature local authors whom I have never heard of. For my upcoming trip to Asia, I picked a few that will see me through the longhaul flights. Istanbul Noir presents stories from a city at once ancient and modern, Asian and European, postcard-perfect and simmering with rage. Paris Noir contains all original stories from Paris’s finest authors, all translated from French. In Singapore Noir, the city that is very neat in my impression is exposed in all of its noir glory with scintillating stories from the very best of the city’s authors. I wonder if Bangkok Noir will be out any time soon?

A little bit about noir as a genre. I have been confused between noir and detective fiction. Noir fiction is a literary genre closely related to hard-boiled genre with a distinction that the protagonist is not a detective, but instead either a victim, a suspect, or a perpetrator. Other common characteristics include the self-destructive qualities of the protagonist. I love the grit, grime and sultry sweat of a good piece of noir fiction.

2 Responses

  1. Thanks for introducing me to the Akashic noir series. Being Singaporean, I’m curious to know how Singapore Noir fares as a collection of ‘noir’ novellas.

Leave a Reply

