• Current Reads

      Life after Life Jill McCorkle
      This Is Your Captain Speaking Jon Methven
      The Starboard Sea Amber Dermont
      Snark David Denby
      Bring Up the Bodies Hilary Mantel
  • Popular Tags

  • Recent Reflections

  • Categories

  • Moleskine’s All-Time Favorites

  • Echoes

    Andrea on [829] Inferno – Dan…
    Matthew on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Anokatony on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Matthew on The King’s English Books…
    Katie Marie on The King’s English Books…
    lazyhaze on Reading Kafka’s “T…
  • Reminiscences

  • Blog Stats

    • 997,066 hits
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,722 other followers

Few Words on Reading Habit

My reading habit has been a hot topic among coworkers and friends lately. Let me clarify. I have this thing about maintaining 100 pages a day regardless of the season, the weather, and the where-about. I established this habit in college and since then I have been very scrupulous and defensive of this routine. I read for 1.5-2 hours in the morning, over breakfast, between the gym and work. I average about 25 to 50 pages an hour, depending on the nature of reading and the difficulty of the prose. (50 upwards for mystery or thriller, 25 for Toni Morrison and Virginia Woolf) And that’s actual reading, not skimming. I pick up the book again during lunch and read some more after dinner.

I can read for hours continuously on vacation. This is why I always pick a quiet resort with cozy pool and chaises. I could finish a book or two a day when I’m on vacation. Reading itself is a vacation. I know some people might roll their eyes at the amount I read; but let’s be honest, when you shut down the cable and quit playing with your phone, you can read a lot more than you think. Television has no appeal to me and I don’t really care the up-to-the-minute social media status updates!

11 Responses

  1. same here, no TV. that what allows me to read a bit over 100 books/year. probably 105 this year. I had a daily average of 100 pages in the month of July, it was great!

  2. I like your routine. I have been thinking a lot about my reading routine and have vowed that 2015 will see me reading more pages a day. I don’t need to check emails so often, I don’t need to rewatch those British crime series I love. I am really looking at ways of making more time for reading and I am enthused about it. All the best for the holiday season. Merry Christmas. Hope you get more books.

    • Hi Pam! I love those British crime series too! But over the years, the TV appeal has dwindled. I’m not interested in the reality shows, and it’s been years since I follow a sitcom. I rather get cozy with a book.

      Happy Holidays to you!

  3. I too have no interest in TV and social media updates. But, still working full time and taking care of two kids ensures that I get very little reading done.

    • Social media I do check, usually in the morning, and then after work. But I keep telling myself it is really not necessary to keep updating the social status. I carry a book everywhere I go so I can get some reading done.🙂

  4. Your routine sounds better than mine. Because my reading habit is during the week mainly reading in bed until the early hours – so I get not enough sleep and I don’t go to the gym regularly.
    So I should aspire to follow your routine but I just can’t get up early in the morning. I’m definitely an owl😉 Oh and also not much interest in TV but movies I like which I watch on DVD about 1 per week.

    • If I’m not the treadmill I can be reading an e-book. LOL. I am a creature of habit and I’m very defensive of my habit. I get up early to get some reading time before work.🙂

  5. I did close to 200 pages in day in grad school and kept going with one to two hours a day for many years afterwards. While I do still read every day, I’m not doing two hours a day nor meeting the 100 pages a day mark on a regulary basis anymore.

    But, who knows. I think things like this come and go and you should do what brings the greatest reward or fits the needs you have at the time. I expect to go back to 100 pages a day or two hours a day once I retire.

Leave a Reply

