• Current Reads

      Life after Life Jill McCorkle
      This Is Your Captain Speaking Jon Methven
      The Starboard Sea Amber Dermont
      Snark David Denby
      Bring Up the Bodies Hilary Mantel
  • Popular Tags

  • Recent Reflections

  • Categories

  • Moleskine’s All-Time Favorites

  • Echoes

    Matthew on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Anokatony on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Matthew on The King’s English Books…
    Katie Marie on The King’s English Books…
    lazyhaze on Reading Kafka’s “T…
    Buried In Print on Reading Kafka’s “T…
  • Reminiscences

  • Blog Stats

    • 991,590 hits
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,668 other followers

No Black Friday

image

(My kind of Black Friday. Book Soup in sunny Southern Cal, 85 degrees. Reading, and browsing more books to read.)

December. Count down to the end of 2014 begins today. Another Thanksgiving Day; and (thankfully) another Black Friday is behind me. I survived Black Friday by not participating in the massive, absurd, destructive consumerist machine. The whole gluttony of Black Friday made me blue. It’s not like all the bookstores will slash prices and I rather them not. Since my birthday and Thanksgiving were just less than a week apart, I was in Southern California for the celebration. What’s better than beach summer for my big day?

As for shopping, I think the holiday shopping period has spanned over just one weekend. Part of the Black Friday’s appeal, at least for some, is that it’s become a cultural phenomenon. They love the crowds, loud music, garish displays, and competitive atmosphere. (For me, only the garish displays appeal to me but they attract hordes of people.) I don’t consider shopping a sport, and so this Super Bowl of shopping I avoid at all expense. The past couple years I noticed the best prices were available even before Black Friday. It all comes down to having a keen sense of what you are looking for and the prices.

Holiday season also means distraction from routine—distraction from reading. I pledge to stay on track and maintain 100 pages of reading a day.

3 Responses

  1. Good!

  2. I did not participate in Black Friday for the same reasons you mentioned. The consumer aspect of it just bothers the heck out of me. That is not what the holidays are about.

    100 pages a day? That’s pretty good. I average about 50 without trying but will sometimes go over if the book is good.

  3. I have deliberately avoided all the stores on Black Friday, knowing the merchants have brazenly advertised Black Friday a month ahead. There’s nothing I need to buy so desperately that I will sacrifice my time with friends and family for the store kerfuffle.

Leave a Reply

