• Current Reads

      Life after Life Jill McCorkle
      This Is Your Captain Speaking Jon Methven
      The Starboard Sea Amber Dermont
      Snark David Denby
      Bring Up the Bodies Hilary Mantel
  • Popular Tags

  • Recent Reflections

  • Categories

  • Moleskine’s All-Time Favorites

  • Echoes

    Matthew on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Anokatony on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Matthew on The King’s English Books…
    Katie Marie on The King’s English Books…
    lazyhaze on Reading Kafka’s “T…
    Buried In Print on Reading Kafka’s “T…
  • Reminiscences

  • Blog Stats

    • 991,562 hits
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,668 other followers

Random Thoughts

Thought #1: I was at the bookstore today and had no agenda. So while I browsed, it occurred to be I gravitated toward book titles containing certain words: secret, mirror, heresy, Paris, museum, piano, dark…

Thought #2: Fifty Shades of Grey has become a religion. Now bookstores try to push other titles similar to the trilogy but with even racier covers. So there’s “If You Like Fifty Shades” shelf full of books suggesting SM plot, but I’m surprised that nobody mentioned Reclaiming Sleeping Beauty by Anne Rice. Just saying.

Thought #3: I keep buying books that I want to save for my trip to Asia in January. So 15 new books later, I still haven’t found the next read.

6 Responses

  1. 50 Shades is definitely a phenomenon. The Anne Rice books are a lot edgier and tougher reads than 50 Shades so I’m not completely surprised that those haven’t taken off as a result of the hype. Sylvia Day and other sexy-romance authors have though and I think those types of books are probably closer in tone than Rice’s. Oh well.

    • Oh my god I cannot believe all the cookie cutter fiction that is a takeoff of Fifty Shades! They are all over the bookstores, Target, Walmart, and Costco! Sylvia Day looks like something I can devour within an hour or two. LOL

  2. my suggestions: Alys, Always by Harriet Lane, Elizabeth is Missing
    by Emma Healey and The Story of Beforeby Susan Stairs

  3. Matthew, you might find the Three Pines/Armand Gamache series by Louise Penny quite entertaining if you are looking for a light read. They are mysteries, and you recently mentioned you like to curl up (actually, you said you sit upright to read vs reading in bed — I seem to recall!) with a good mystery as the weather becomes nippy and darker days are upon us. As well, Inger Ash Wolfe writes the Hazel Micallef Mystery
    series which I think you’d also enjoy!

    • The weather will only get nippier and the day shorter. I am stocking up mysteries for the season and for the trip in January. While browsing through Anne Perry’s books, I also noticed Louise Penny but had no idea where to begin. Thank you for your timely recommendations.

Leave a Reply

