• Current Reads

      Life after Life Jill McCorkle
      This Is Your Captain Speaking Jon Methven
      The Starboard Sea Amber Dermont
      Snark David Denby
      Bring Up the Bodies Hilary Mantel
  • Popular Tags

  • Recent Reflections

  • Categories

  • Moleskine’s All-Time Favorites

  • Echoes

    Matthew on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Anokatony on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Matthew on The King’s English Books…
    Katie Marie on The King’s English Books…
    lazyhaze on Reading Kafka’s “T…
    Buried In Print on Reading Kafka’s “T…
  • Reminiscences

  • Blog Stats

    • 991,343 hits
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,661 other followers

“School Discoveries”

btt button

I checked in at the Booking Through Thursday blog, which is the host for a weekly book meme or blogging prompt. Here is this week’s prompt:

We all had to read lots of different things in school—some of which we liked, some of which we didn’t. Are there any authors that you’ve grown to love because you were introduced to them in your English Lit class? Or—the contrary. Are there any you hate because you were forced to read them? Did you ever go back to try them again?

I remember those two gigantic, phone book-size literature textbooks for 9th and 10th grades, which were anthology collections to give us overview of the subject matter. Anyway these books, titled Adventures in Reading and Adventures in Literature gave me the foundation and invoked in me interests in exploring further. One of the timeless pieces was The Necklace by Guy de Maupassant, which epitomizes elements of irony in short stories. Edgar Allan Poe is another favorite authors that has stayed with me. A Separate Peace by John Knowles and The Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger are books that I re-read. The former is a story of innocence lost and the latter features a potty-mouth but kind-hearted Holden Caulfield. Honestly I’m surprised these two books don’t find favor with many readers.

In tenth grade I read The Pearl and Of Mice and Men, which I enjoyed but were far from my prized selections of John Steinbeck. East of Eden, perused on my own in college, has been an all-time favorite book. On the contrary, I didn’t enjoy Moby Dick and that was it for me as far as reading Herman Melville. I also found Thoreau very dry—all the harangue about civil disobedience. But I think the book is ever more relevant now in this society plagued by self-entitlement and rudeness. I also trudged through page after page of farming techniques and land allotment in War and Peace but enjoyed Anna Karenina later in life profusely. One author that is overrated in my book, even to this day, is Ernest Hemingway. I cannot say I enjoy any of his fiction, but A Moveable Feast always warrants re-reads.

One Response

  1. The Necklace. I’d forgotten that one. I remember having to read A Rose for Emily by Faulkner and hating it! I didn’t love Catcher in the Rye, but I adored Huckleberry Finn and I think I read both of those as a junior in high school. My answer is at 2 Kids and Tired Books BTT.

Leave a Reply

