• Current Reads

      Life after Life Jill McCorkle
      This Is Your Captain Speaking Jon Methven
      The Starboard Sea Amber Dermont
      Snark David Denby
      Bring Up the Bodies Hilary Mantel
  • Popular Tags

  • Recent Reflections

  • Categories

  • Moleskine’s All-Time Favorites

  • Echoes

    amaryllisturman on [836] The Girl on the Train…
    Andrea on [829] Inferno – Dan…
    Matthew on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Anokatony on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Matthew on The King’s English Books…
    Katie Marie on The King’s English Books…
  • Reminiscences

  • Blog Stats

    • 997,316 hits
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,723 other followers

Enmity

btt button

I checked in at the Booking Through Thursday blog, which is the host for a weekly book meme or blogging prompt. Here is this week’s prompt:

Any books or authors you hate? Why? Is it the writing? The stories? The author’s personality? And—would you read their work anyway?

Hate is too strong of a word against any book or author. All I can say is there are certain kinds of books I will avoid, knowing they are not my cup of tea. After my woe with that horrible ending of Bel Canto I have avoided Ann Patchett. Instead of “hate” I learn to avoid certain authors knowing the books aren’t within my my reading taste. Haruki Murakami I would read but I don’t feel the urgency to read his new books. Over the years I have become very good at matching books to my taste when it comes to new/previously unread authors. Another type of books I avoid is fan-fiction.

3 Responses

  1. Oh, but Patchett’s “This is the Story of a Happy Marriage”, her collection of essays, is phenomenal. Truly. I have only read “State of Wonder” which I loved, so I can’t comment on Bel Canto, but this other book will make you fall in love with her I think. And hate? I come darned close to hating Jonathan Franzen.

  2. For what it’s worth, I’ve read all of Patchett’s books and Bel Canto is my least favorite. Even though it seems to be her most popular, it didn’t do much for me.

  3. I haven’t read Patchett. I have however, seen some fan fiction that rivals some of the best novels I’ve ever read. Some, mind you, not all! Much is trash, I agree. I won’t read formulaic authors: Nicholas Sparks, Jodi Picoult, Anita Shreve.

    2 Kids and Tired Books BTT

Leave a Reply

