• Current Reads

      Life after Life Jill McCorkle
      This Is Your Captain Speaking Jon Methven
      The Starboard Sea Amber Dermont
      Snark David Denby
      Bring Up the Bodies Hilary Mantel
  • Popular Tags

  • Recent Reflections

  • Categories

  • Moleskine’s All-Time Favorites

  • Echoes

    Matthew on [836] The Girl on the Train…
    amaryllisturman on [836] The Girl on the Train…
    Andrea on [829] Inferno – Dan…
    Matthew on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Anokatony on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Matthew on The King’s English Books…
  • Reminiscences

  • Blog Stats

    • 997,577 hits
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,727 other followers

Aura

image

A lady at the coffee shop expressed her admiration at my intensity and concentration in reading. I would sit in the alcove and pore over my book over coffee. At her inquiry of whether I’m working on a dissertation, I said school days were well behind me. I showed her my copy of The Magic Mountain and said lately I’m reading classics that I never read in school. She was more than impressed—and felt compelled to read more. I think readers give off that aura that inspire others to discover the pleasure in between the pages.

Although I’m only on page 167/706 of The Magic Mountain, I’m excited to have Sinclair Lewis lined up for the next read. He was the first American to win the Nobel Prize for Literature. Although he was proud of his Midwestern roots, he traveled widely and was interested in many different aspects of American society, from business and medicine to religion and small town life. His concern with issues involving women, race, and the powerless in society make his work still vital and pertinent today. His analysis of the America of the 1920s holds true for the America of today. His prophecies have become our truths and his fears our most crucial problems.” Sinclair Lewis was nominated for the Pulitzer Prize for Main Street and Babbitt, and won the award for Arrowsmith (although he turned it down).

2 Responses

  1. Why did Sinclair Lewis turn down his Pulitzer?

  2. You make me want to put some Sinclair Lewis on my TBR list!

Leave a Reply

