• Current Reads

      Life after Life Jill McCorkle
      This Is Your Captain Speaking Jon Methven
      The Starboard Sea Amber Dermont
      Snark David Denby
      Bring Up the Bodies Hilary Mantel
  • Popular Tags

  • Recent Reflections

  • Categories

  • Moleskine’s All-Time Favorites

  • Echoes

    Matthew on [836] The Girl on the Train…
    amaryllisturman on [836] The Girl on the Train…
    Andrea on [829] Inferno – Dan…
    Matthew on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Anokatony on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Matthew on The King’s English Books…
  • Reminiscences

  • Blog Stats

    • 997,577 hits
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,727 other followers

Summertime

btt button

I checked in at the Booking Through Thursday blog, which is the host for a weekly book meme or blogging prompt. Here is this week’s prompt:

Do your reading habits change in the summer?

Summer is the time of pool time and road trips with friends. That means I have to select lighter books. Although I’m a spontaneous reader, I’m mindful that I don’t bring James Joyce or Toni Morrison with me to the poolside in Palm Springs because they are too tough-going for distraction. My summer books are ones that can survive distraction. Imagine trying to read a chapter or a passage, dive into the pool, soak up the sun, come back to read some more, grab a nosh from the BBQ grill, take a nap on the float, and come back to try to read where I left off. Ulysses won’t do, nor would To the Lighthouse or Beloved. The straight-forward and tight plot of The Jungle might suit the occasion but I might have to skip the BBQ. Good mysteries always and non-fiction might be the perfect choices.

One Response

  1. I can understand the need for lighter reading. It can be hard to concentrate when you’re poolside or traveling. I don’t know that my reading changes with the seasons, but it certainly does depending on where I am and who I’m with sometimes.

    2 Kids and Tired Books BTT

Leave a Reply

