• Current Reads

      Life after Life Jill McCorkle
      This Is Your Captain Speaking Jon Methven
      The Starboard Sea Amber Dermont
      Snark David Denby
      Bring Up the Bodies Hilary Mantel
  • Popular Tags

  • Recent Reflections

  • Categories

  • Moleskine’s All-Time Favorites

  • Echoes

    Matthew on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Anokatony on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Matthew on The King’s English Books…
    Katie Marie on The King’s English Books…
    lazyhaze on Reading Kafka’s “T…
    Buried In Print on Reading Kafka’s “T…
  • Reminiscences

  • Blog Stats

    • 991,715 hits
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,666 other followers

Anticipation

btt button

I checked in at the Booking Through Thursday blog, which is the host for a weekly book meme or blogging prompt. Here is this week’s prompt:

Do you still get excited about new books as you did when you were little? In general? New books in particular, like from a favorite author? Or do you look at all new, unread books with the same level of anticipation?

Any book or author I haven’t read is new to me. I don’t distinguish between books hot off the press and ones that were written in the last century. I simply get excited about books—the smell of ink and the tactile pleasure. When I was little, I anticipated Sunday not because my favorite cartoon would be on TV, but the prospect of a visit to the bookstore after dim sum. I was looking forward to browsing and hopefully buying a book that I would read in my spare time.

One Response

  1. I lived out in the country where we didn’t have bookstores, so it was all about the library. But I remember at school, they handed out these flyers ranging from 2 to 4 pages with books you could buy. You would fill it out and bring in your check or cash, then begin the horrendous, torturous wait for the books to come in. I can’t even put into words the excitement I felt when I saw that box of books sitting on my teacher’s desk!

Leave a Reply

