• Current Reads

      Life after Life Jill McCorkle
      This Is Your Captain Speaking Jon Methven
      The Starboard Sea Amber Dermont
      Snark David Denby
      Bring Up the Bodies Hilary Mantel
  • Popular Tags

  • Recent Reflections

  • Categories

  • Moleskine’s All-Time Favorites

  • Echoes

    Matthew on [836] The Girl on the Train…
    amaryllisturman on [836] The Girl on the Train…
    Andrea on [829] Inferno – Dan…
    Matthew on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Anokatony on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Matthew on The King’s English Books…
  • Reminiscences

  • Blog Stats

    • 997,881 hits
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,730 other followers

“Summer Reads”

1summer

I saw this on Facebook and at my local independent bookstore! Isn’t this cute? I know publishers always release new rubs and different editions for classics even during summer as kids are advised to peruse them on their own. The fact that I stumbled upon this cartoon poster today is quite serendipitous: I’m currently reading Lord of the Flies, which I didn’t get to read in high school because my English 3 Class (10th grade) read Of Mice and Man and The Sun Also Rises. Then in college when exploring books on my own I decided that a book about a bunch of brats stranded on an island doesn’t really appeal to me. Even more odious is that it sounds like a juvenile version of the reality show Survivors. I’m wrong. I’m enjoying every page of adventure and moral implication. It traces the defect of society back to the defect of human nature.

The Catcher in the Rye might not find favor in everyone but it has remained with me throughout the years. Holden Caulfield is a troubled teenager but his gamut of experiences allow him to be exposed to the world that both fascinates and confuses him. The Sound and the Fury seems too dense of a read for the pool. It has to wait for its turn especially after Swann’s Way. Cat’s Cradle and Fahrenheit 451 are both on my list. I’m familiar with the basic premise of Fahrenheit 451 but not the book-related nature of it. How does book burning affect suppress ideas? On the Road, which is based on the travels of Kerouac and his friends across America, is a dilemma. Should I make it a relaxing armchair travel by the pool or save it until I have seen more of the country?

Leave a Reply

