• Current Reads

      Life after Life Jill McCorkle
      This Is Your Captain Speaking Jon Methven
      The Starboard Sea Amber Dermont
      Snark David Denby
      Bring Up the Bodies Hilary Mantel
  • Popular Tags

  • Recent Reflections

  • Categories

  • Moleskine’s All-Time Favorites

  • Echoes

    Matthew on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Anokatony on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Matthew on The King’s English Books…
    Katie Marie on The King’s English Books…
    lazyhaze on Reading Kafka’s “T…
    Buried In Print on Reading Kafka’s “T…
  • Reminiscences

  • Blog Stats

    • 991,257 hits
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,662 other followers

The Strand: 18 Miles of Books

The Strand

Found in 1927 by Ben Bass, The Strand is a literary landmark of New York. Along with Powell Books in Portland, Oregon, The Strand is one of the largest independent bookstores in the country. A trip to New York is not complete without paying a visit (or two) to this literary mecca. After attending to the emails, files and paperwork in preparation to the BEA, which will open tomorrow, I took a stroll in Manhattan and ended here at The Strand. Shelf after shelf of books in rabbit warren. Books are stuffed to the ceiling and windows. The entire basement is home to review copies and proofs. Suffice to say that I went in after a quick lunch and came out with a rumbling stomach ready for dinner—and I only browsed the fiction section! Among the finds is The Best of Everything by Rona Jaffe, a 1958 novel about five young employees of a New York publishing house. It’s been recently re-released. Borges’s Last Interview was staring at me from the shelf. So I decided to take it home with me before I proceed to the second half of Collection Fictions. The staff here is more than helpful. They are very knowledgeable of books and of the industry. I’m glad to see New Yorkers are passionate about their local bookstore. The Strand marks a great headstart to my week in the Big Apple.

2 Responses

  1. SO jealous, even though I frequent Powell’s often. I’d love to see the Strand at least once!

  2. I’ve never been to New York but when I do go, this is literally the top of my to-do list (followed quickly by a visit to Laduree – mmm!)

    I can’t wait to hear about your experiences at BEA!🙂

Leave a Reply

