• Current Reads

      Life after Life Jill McCorkle
      This Is Your Captain Speaking Jon Methven
      The Starboard Sea Amber Dermont
      Snark David Denby
      Bring Up the Bodies Hilary Mantel
  • Popular Tags

  • Recent Reflections

  • Categories

  • Moleskine’s All-Time Favorites

  • Echoes

    Andrea on [829] Inferno – Dan…
    Matthew on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Anokatony on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Matthew on The King’s English Books…
    Katie Marie on The King’s English Books…
    lazyhaze on Reading Kafka’s “T…
  • Reminiscences

  • Blog Stats

    • 997,232 hits
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,722 other followers

Book Expo America ’14

Book Expo America '14

So I’m back to New York City for another BEA. It’s exciting to be part of this nationwide consortium for the book industry. I’m here for work, which focuses on the digital platform in information services. I’m attending the 2-day IDPF Digital Book conference that concerns the key issues in publishing in an increasingly digital world. As a representatice from an academic sector that is both a client of the digital media and a provider of such services, I find the IDPF Digital a previous experience as I’ll be meeting and discussing with executives, marketers, designers, developers, authors and agents on how to serve out students and scholars better with digital resources.

That said, personally I’m still a stickler to old fashioned books. I love turning the pages, making pencil marks on the margin, riffling them at the bookstores, and showcasing them. Printed books don’t seem to go away. That initial e-book explosion is starting to look like an aberration. From the start, e-book purchases have skewed disproportionately toward fiction, with novels representing close to two-thirds of sales. Digital bestsellers are dominated in particular by genre novels, like thrillers and romances—screen reading that us well suited to the kind of light entertainment that have been traditionally been sold in supermarkets and airports. These are, by design, the most disposable books.

Readers of weightier fare, like literary fiction and narrative nonfiction, have been less inclined to go digital, myself included. There’s something about the heft and durability, the tactile pleasures that appeal to these readers. Books that merit retreads. So my prediction is that eventually most genre fiction and textbooks will go digital while highbrow literature will remain in print.

9 Responses

  1. wow! hi i’m new to this blogging thing so it would mean alot id you check oug my page and even follow me ( i’ll follow back ) and i’ll also be giving out signed books and other cool things soon!

  2. wow!!!!! hi i’m new to this blogging thing so it would mean alot id you check oug my page and even follow me ( i’ll follow back ) and i’ll also be giving out signed books and other cool things soon!

  3. I disagree with your prediction. As the general population ages and more people live longer, those interested in literary fiction and non-fiction titles may find that reading those heftier books on ereaders is easier on their aging hands, wrists, and eyes. The ereader is lighter and has adjustable fonts, font sizes, and background lighting.
    I love “real” books too but practically speaking, I think ebook sales of all types will continue to rise.

    • I’m only speaking from the sales from different categories of books and by genres. Literary fiction saw a rise in sales last year. But you’re right, in the long term, most book sales will become digital. I have the trouble to keeping a book flat open when my hands are busy. The e-reader would be a welcoming alternative. Until the printed matter is wiped out, I’ll still read real books.

  4. Have fun In NYC. I much prefer printed books over ebooks but appreciate having options when I travel.

    • Me too. I carry 2-3 physical copies when I board the plane, but would have additional titles on my e-reader. I have traveled to places where a bookstore with good selection is either nonexistent or a few hours away. So I always bring extra reading materials.

  5. I need to check that out sometime and try and sell my books! Would be a great networking thing, too. I hope you have lots of fun and hope to have you in Seattle when our home is finished.

    • It’s a great event where publishers, developers, booksellers, writers and media people come together to celebrate books. Great networking. I am here for digital media development for work.🙂

      • Sounds like a great time and hope to go someday! Digital media is where it’s at! I do hope you’ll come to Seattle sometime. We are starting renovation on our house next week.

Leave a Reply

