• Current Reads

      Life after Life Jill McCorkle
      This Is Your Captain Speaking Jon Methven
      The Starboard Sea Amber Dermont
      Snark David Denby
      Bring Up the Bodies Hilary Mantel
  • Popular Tags

  • Recent Reflections

  • Categories

  • Moleskine’s All-Time Favorites

  • Echoes

    Matthew on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Anokatony on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Matthew on The King’s English Books…
    Katie Marie on The King’s English Books…
    lazyhaze on Reading Kafka’s “T…
    Buried In Print on Reading Kafka’s “T…
  • Reminiscences

  • Blog Stats

    • 991,734 hits
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,666 other followers

California Bookstore Day

California Bookstore Day

Saturday, May 3 will be California Bookstore Day, a statewide party that celebrates independent bookstores. It is a project of the Northern and Southern California Independent Booksellers Associations, representing several hundred bookstores. Indie bookstores are an essential part of lively communities, the free-flow of ideas, and the thrill of discovery. California Bookstore Day will harness the creative power of authors and publishers in a giant celebration of the written word that will drive readers to brick-and-mortar bookstores.

5 Responses

  1. I’m so glad to see Books Inc. is still around, even if “my” store in Sacramento is gone. When we moved to the Midwest it was a place I knew I’d miss.

    • I didn’t know there was a Books Inc in Sacramento! Thanks for the reference. I know (from their advertising and from the bookmark) it’s the oldest bookstore on the west coast. They have 4 stores in San Francisco and a store in each of the 3 terminals at SFO.

  2. I’m really excited about this. Going to stop by Vroman’s in Pasadena. Hopefully, I’ll snag a copy of Neil Gaiman’s “The Spindle and the Sleeper”!

    • I used to visit Vroman’s all the time when I had to commute to LA for work, almost once every two weeks. I would find time to go there and pick up some books. Now they own Book Soup on Sunset Blvd and that’s my other favorite!

  3. This was a lot of fun. I hadn’t heard about it until the day before on Twitter. So glad I found a bookstore to go to (and I’m doubly excited to have a copy of Neil Gaiman’s short story :-D)

Leave a Reply

