• Current Reads

      Life after Life Jill McCorkle
      This Is Your Captain Speaking Jon Methven
      The Starboard Sea Amber Dermont
      Snark David Denby
      Bring Up the Bodies Hilary Mantel
  • Popular Tags

  • Recent Reflections

  • Categories

  • Moleskine’s All-Time Favorites

  • Echoes

    Andrea on [829] Inferno – Dan…
    Matthew on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Anokatony on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Matthew on The King’s English Books…
    Katie Marie on The King’s English Books…
    lazyhaze on Reading Kafka’s “T…
  • Reminiscences

  • Blog Stats

    • 997,066 hits
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,722 other followers

The Big Why

btt button

I checked in at the Booking Through Thursday blog, which is the host for a weekly book meme or blogging prompt. Here is this week’s prompt:

Why do YOU read fiction?

I always read because reading teaches me something about life. There’re good stories and great stories. Good stories are good reads. Great stories that one that provoke me, that to which I react. Usually I don’t think about why I read because reading is like eating. Why do you eat? You need nourishment and and answer a craving. Reading is the same: there’s an inner craving to be satisfied. Have you wondered why the world is separated into continents and languages? Why people have different physical appearances? As long as we are different, our cultures diverse, our preferences unique, there are stories to be told. Humanity spawns fiction. Fiction might be fictitious but the motives in creating these lies could help us see the truth.

2 Responses

  1. Hmm… This one’s a good question.. I think I read because it is my duty to educate myself about something, whether it is work-related or not. And I agree about that part where you said it’s like eating. But in addition, we eat at specific time and when we’re hungry. So like eating, I read when I feel the craving/need. Or when I know I’ve neglected my duty for too long that I already suffer the lack of literary nourishment. ^_^

  2. It’s a fantastic question – one that I answer all the time when helping my kids to pick up a book (lol, just reread that, it sounds like they are really tiny people who are unable to pick up a book – nope, they are normal, the younger one just has an aversion to the written word) or questioning someone why they don’t read, or defending a book against its movie counterpart. Reading is an amazing escape into another world. The people look how I want them to look, they sound how I imagine them to sound, and I know all of the characters more intamitaley than any of my friends. I have no deep and thoughful reason as to why I read – I don’t read to become more intelligent or to understand the world. I read for the enjoyment of it. There is nothing better than to run round the house getting the housework done really quickly so I can sit down with a coffee and a good book. I am in awe of fiction writers that create worlds I would prefer to be in (or on the other hand, thankful that I am not in)

Leave a Reply

