• Current Reads

      Life after Life Jill McCorkle
      This Is Your Captain Speaking Jon Methven
      The Starboard Sea Amber Dermont
      Snark David Denby
      Bring Up the Bodies Hilary Mantel
  • Popular Tags

  • Recent Reflections

  • Categories

  • Moleskine’s All-Time Favorites

  • Echoes

    Matthew on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Anokatony on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Matthew on The King’s English Books…
    Katie Marie on The King’s English Books…
    lazyhaze on Reading Kafka’s “T…
    Buried In Print on Reading Kafka’s “T…
  • Reminiscences

  • Blog Stats

    • 991,701 hits
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,666 other followers

Happy Thanksgiving! Book Meme!

1HA2a

I won’t celebrate Thanksgiving this year as I’ll be on the plane to Hawaii—to the island of Kauai. Hawaiian Airlines offers an upgrade food option for $14 which, according to my research, includes some kind of burger. As you know airline food is nothing to be desired of, let alone paying money for it, so I’m packing my own nosh box. It’s not really a Thanksgiving fare, but the turkey is represented in the form of a sandwich with cranberry sauce, lettuce, and tomato. There will be dark chocolate peanut butter cup from Trader Joe’s, kettle corn from Cornology, and Fuji apple.

Do you have a favorite dish to eat or prepare? Are you traveling or staying home? Will you watch the parade, football, or maybe a favorite movie? If you are celebrating Thanksgiving, enjoy the day, the food, and the company of family and friends. Take time to relax, nap, eat, read!

I leave you with a meme, revisited a few years later. Leave a comment, or let me know if you post on your blog. I would love to read your answers.

Which book has been on your shelf the longest? Usually the tomes to be read. Ulysses. Atlas Shrugged. There are books that have remained with me since high school, like A Separate Peace, A Catcher in the Rye.

What is your current read, your last read and the book you’ll read next? Man About Town by Mark Merlis.

Synopsis: A congressional adviser and habitué of a cozy circuit of bars inside the Beltway, Joel Lingeman never quite felt middle-aged. At least not until he was abandoned by his partner of fifteen years and suddenly thrust into a dating scene with men half his age and no discernible trace of love handles.

I do not usually know what I’ll read next until I finish the current one. At this moment, it will most likely be Presumed Innocent by Scott Turow.

What book did everyone like and you hated? I sadly didn’t enjoy The Paris Wife by Paula McLain.

Which book do you keep telling yourself you’ll read, but you probably won’t? This is always up in the air as my mood changes. The Casual Vacancy. I preordered the hardcover, brought it to different weekend trips and did not make a dent.

Last page: read it first or wait till the end? I do not violate the law of nature.

Acknowledgements: waste of ink and paper or interesting aside? I actually peruse them!

Which book character would you switch places with? A difficult question. I would go for Hercule Poirot from Agatha Christie’s mystery series. He is smart, sensitive, and thoughtful. He carries himself with great dignity. The neatness of his attire was almost incredible.

Do you have a book that reminds you of something specific in your life (a person, a place, a time)? There are plenty of books that bring back memories but Gweilo, a memoir by Martin Booth, transfers me back to the hustle-and-bustle streets of my hometown and reminds me of when my mother first let me go explore the streets on my own.

Which book has been with you to the most places? My all-time favorite novel, The Master and Margarita by Mikhail Bulgakov. I re-read it every once in a while and usually on a trip.

Used or brand new? I prefer new but will read gently used. Prefer brand new but do not mind used as long as the books are not dirty.

Have you ever seen a movie you liked better than the book? None so far.

Leave a Reply

