• Current Reads

      Life after Life Jill McCorkle
      This Is Your Captain Speaking Jon Methven
      The Starboard Sea Amber Dermont
      Snark David Denby
      Bring Up the Bodies Hilary Mantel
  • Popular Tags

  • Recent Reflections

  • Categories

  • Moleskine’s All-Time Favorites

  • Echoes

    Matthew on [836] The Girl on the Train…
    amaryllisturman on [836] The Girl on the Train…
    Andrea on [829] Inferno – Dan…
    Matthew on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Anokatony on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Matthew on The King’s English Books…
  • Reminiscences

  • Blog Stats

    • 997,817 hits
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,730 other followers

Book Hoard for Trips

I checked in at the Musing Mondays blog, which is the host for a weekly book meme or blogging prompt. Here is this week’s prompt:

Tell us what book(s) you recently bought for yourself or someone else, and why you chose that/those book(s).

1a11a2

Lately I’ve been hoarding books for upcoming trips to Hawaii and Asia—books that are engrossing, page-turning, and captivating to last a long-haul flight. Airport bookstore is always a hit or miss, unless I see a book jumping at me. The last thing I want is to be stuck with a boring book on my flight to Asia. When I encounter a book that sounds intriguing, I save it for the holiday travel pool. I try to achieve a balance between literature, thriller, and mystery. One book, The Starboard Sea by Amber Dermont, has remained in this pile for almost a year since my previous trip to Thailand. The Distant Hour by Kate Morton I had acquired for the travel. Defending Jacob seems very intriguing and fast-paced, and so does Into the Darkest Corner. NW and The Little Friend fill up the literary department, while In the Shadow of the Banyan and A Dry White Season shine in cultural diversity.

3 Responses

  1. Of the books you’ve pictured, I’ve read and enjoyed these: Rosemary’s Baby (quick, creepy read!), We Have To Talk About Kevin (longer, creepier, and disturbing read), Defending Jacob (great book club book), The Little Friend (not a book that you can rush through).
    You sure have a variety here! Enjoy your trips and your reading!

  2. I really want to read a Zadie Smith novel, I’ve read about her stuff and it sounds awesome.

  3. A Dry White Season is on my reading list.

Leave a Reply

