• Current Reads

      Life after Life Jill McCorkle
      This Is Your Captain Speaking Jon Methven
      The Starboard Sea Amber Dermont
      Snark David Denby
      Bring Up the Bodies Hilary Mantel
  • Popular Tags

  • Recent Reflections

  • Categories

  • Moleskine’s All-Time Favorites

  • Echoes

    Matthew on [836] The Girl on the Train…
    amaryllisturman on [836] The Girl on the Train…
    Andrea on [829] Inferno – Dan…
    Matthew on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Anokatony on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Matthew on The King’s English Books…
  • Reminiscences

  • Blog Stats

    • 997,769 hits
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,729 other followers

(The) Ghost Story

astraub

“What was the worst thing you’ve ever done?”
“I won’t tell you that, but I’ll tell you the worst thing that ever happened to me… the most dreadful thing…”

Thus is the opening of Ghost Story. I am about a third of the way. The story proceeds through multiple facets and plot lines. Straub spins out his long novel in short chapters, mostly, crisscrossing between characters that, early on, can be confusing. There is the Chowder Society, which consists of four old men who are haunted by an inadvertent act of their youth. There is a mysterious girl arriving in town. Her aunt, Eva Galli, once lived in the fictional town of Milburn, where the novel is set. The inhabitants of Milburn will meet frigid, horrid deaths as they pay for a sin that was not theirs, against which they have no defense. Hmmm … this is the perfect book to read under the cover this Halloween!

4 Responses

  1. I think I read this as a teenager. I remember my mom having it on her shelves and I “borrowed” it. I’d love to read it again…I have no recollection of what it is about!

    • There are so many crisscrossing story lines that span over 40 years. It took me a while to get a footing on this book. I won’t go so far to call it a slog, but patience is really needed.

  2. I keep meaning to read one of his books. One day!

Leave a Reply

