• Current Reads

      Life after Life Jill McCorkle
      This Is Your Captain Speaking Jon Methven
      The Starboard Sea Amber Dermont
      Snark David Denby
      Bring Up the Bodies Hilary Mantel
  • Popular Tags

  • Recent Reflections

  • Categories

  • Moleskine’s All-Time Favorites

  • Echoes

    Andrea on [829] Inferno – Dan…
    Matthew on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Anokatony on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Matthew on The King’s English Books…
    Katie Marie on The King’s English Books…
    lazyhaze on Reading Kafka’s “T…
  • Reminiscences

  • Blog Stats

    • 997,232 hits
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,722 other followers

Favorite vs Best

btt button

I checked in at the Booking Through Thursday blog, which is the host for a weekly book meme or blogging prompt. Here is this week’s prompt:

Are “best” and “favorite” the same thing? If someone asked you “What’s the best book you ever read?” would the answer be the same as for “What’s your favorite?”

I’m not in a position to judge what is or what makes a book the best. Usually the best reads that make my end-of-the-year list are ones with memorable characters or plots. The bottom line is I won’t remember every 100 books I read during the year. The ones that remain with me would be the best. “Best” also implies the quality of the writing and all the logistics, like character development, the prose, and plot. “Favorite” can be utterly different. A book can reach out to me because of its subject matter, which is purely rooted in the creativity. My favorites aren’t always the best—I chose them because they struck a chord with me. One is qualitative and the other emotional. The best book I’ve ever read is The Master and Margarita by Mikhail Bulgakov. The favorites are changing like revolving doors. At this moment I’m rooted for Almost Like Being in Love by Steve Kluger.

3 Responses

  1. My answer was very similar. Some of my favorites certainly wouldn’t be considered “best” by many people but they still struck a chord with me. Happy Thursday!

  2. I hope that you do not mind but I have nominated you for the Shine On award. Take a look at what its all about.

    http://adammstone.wordpress.com/2013/09/26/shine-on-award/

Leave a Reply

