• Current Reads

      Life after Life Jill McCorkle
      This Is Your Captain Speaking Jon Methven
      The Starboard Sea Amber Dermont
      Snark David Denby
      Bring Up the Bodies Hilary Mantel
  • Popular Tags

  • Recent Reflections

  • Categories

  • Moleskine’s All-Time Favorites

  • Echoes

    Matthew on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Anokatony on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Matthew on The King’s English Books…
    Katie Marie on The King’s English Books…
    lazyhaze on Reading Kafka’s “T…
    Buried In Print on Reading Kafka’s “T…
  • Reminiscences

  • Blog Stats

    • 991,669 hits
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,666 other followers

What To Read?

book

It’s one of those mornings in which I woke up 10 minutes earlier to peer at my TBR shelf and pick a book. Is it going to be Hemingway’s wife? Racial intolerance in South Africa? White girl servant on a plantation? A Robert Goddard encore? A mom juggling nine currencies in five continents? WWII Vietnam? Or Phnom Penh during civil war? All look good and score at least 4.0 grading on GoodReads. War-related novels seem a bit intense right now. Goddard thriller I’ll save for Palm Springs. I think I’ll go for a working mom who has no free time on her own. Panicking at 1:37 A.M. to try faking a homemade pie for her daughter’s school party. How about that?

How do you find your next read? Rummage through your pile? Randomly pick something that first catches your attention? Buy something cold turkey? I have to have a book in my bag for morning coffee so buying something new is out of the question. Call me obsessive-compulsive. I am.

5 Responses

  1. I’ve read I Don’t Know How She Does It, it was also made into a film. I believe Sarah Jessica Parker starred in it. It’s a very sad take on working moms, but it’s done in a funny way. I thought it could be a lot better.

  2. I have so little time to read, given my own writing, our kids–not to mention my job which pays the bills, that I have to pick carefully. I read reviews, follow awards, and ask friends for referrals. So far, that mix has served me well!

  3. Hated I Don’t Know How She Does It. A lot. I work off a few lists, like the 1001 books, and join read-alongs, and try to keep with new Books here and there.

  4. Recently I read series so I just pick up the next book in line. If it’s not series, I just jump from one (sub)genre to another to avoid that “umay” feeling.. ^_^

  5. Picking my next read all depends on my mood for the day. If I feel like something noir or a little edgy or maybe I’d prefer something more warm and homey to set the day’s mood. For example today, it’s cold and grey out and I’m burrowing deeper under the sheets clutching Rashomon because it just feels like that kind of day.

Leave a Reply

