• Current Reads

      Life after Life Jill McCorkle
      This Is Your Captain Speaking Jon Methven
      The Starboard Sea Amber Dermont
      Snark David Denby
      Bring Up the Bodies Hilary Mantel
  • Popular Tags

  • Recent Reflections

  • Categories

  • Moleskine’s All-Time Favorites

  • Echoes

    Matthew on [836] The Girl on the Train…
    amaryllisturman on [836] The Girl on the Train…
    Andrea on [829] Inferno – Dan…
    Matthew on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Anokatony on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Matthew on The King’s English Books…
  • Reminiscences

  • Blog Stats

    • 997,577 hits
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,727 other followers

Re-Read?

btt button

I checked in at the Booking Through Thursday blog, which is the host for a weekly book meme or blogging prompt. Here is this week’s prompt:

We all know the beauty of reading a really wonderful book for the first time—when everything about the story and the writing and the timing click to make a reader’s perfect storm … but it’s fleeting, because you can never read that book for the first time again.

So … if you could magically reset things so that you had the chance to read a favorite book/series again for the first time … which would you choose? And why?

And then, since tastes change … Do you think it would have the same affect on you, reading it now, as it did when you read it the first time? Would you love it just as much? Would you risk it?

Books with many twists and turns often demand another chance. Sometimes the books are so intriguing and convoluted that by the time you reach down to the finale the many minute details have been forgotten. The Master and Margarita, Mikhail Bulgakov’s tale about Satan disguised as a black magic practitioner arriving in Stalin-era Moscow, never exhausts its possibilities in terms of both interpretation and entertainment. Another one that lives up to the say “reading a book really is better the second time round” is Kazuo Ishiguro’s The Remains of the Day, which tells the tale of a dutiful butler whose submission to his master defies him of reason and deprives him of a romantic connection. The second time around really established an emotional benefit because the first time I was focused on the events. The series that I would most likely re-read is the Maggie Hope Series by Susan Elia MacNeal. I am about the start the third volume, His Majesty’s Hope. But before doing so, I’ll have to go back to my notes and refresh the events from the last two books. The heroine is an intrepid spy and expert code breaker who has not only become a protector of the royal family but has also discovered shocking secrets of her family. This is something that warrants rereading because every turn of the page is a twist and I would most likely forget about some of the details by the time I’m through the roller coaster ride of a read.

4 Responses

  1. Though I would have chosen different books (maybe the Sherlock Homes series) I love that you chose The Master and Margharita, It is one of my most loved books, and improves upon every rereading.

    • I have been alternating between two translations and every reading affords new meaning. Very rarely does a book impress me with such new possibilities.

  2. Interesting topic since I’ve shied away from rereading for the reason that there should be time enough between the first read and the second. So definitely I will read. In fact, I have marked some books that I will reread, with time.

    • Some books, I agree, need to sit until I revisit them. I have found myself re-reading those classics that I couldn’t make head or tail of back in high school.

Leave a Reply

