• Current Reads

      Life after Life Jill McCorkle
      This Is Your Captain Speaking Jon Methven
      The Starboard Sea Amber Dermont
      Snark David Denby
      Bring Up the Bodies Hilary Mantel
  • Popular Tags

  • Recent Reflections

  • Categories

  • Moleskine’s All-Time Favorites

  • Echoes

    Matthew on [836] The Girl on the Train…
    amaryllisturman on [836] The Girl on the Train…
    Andrea on [829] Inferno – Dan…
    Matthew on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Anokatony on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Matthew on The King’s English Books…
  • Reminiscences

  • Blog Stats

    • 997,769 hits
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,729 other followers

Neither a Borrower

btt button

I checked in at the Booking Through Thursday blog, which is the host for a weekly book meme or blogging prompt. Here is this week’s prompt:

I’ve asked before how you feel about lending your books. I’ve asked how you feel about libraries. But—–how do you feel about borrowing books from friends? Is this something you like to do? Does it make you feel uncomfortable or rushed while reading? Does it affect how you feel about the book you’re reading, pressured into liking it?

Recently I got an e-mail from a friend I have lost in touch saying he has to return two books to me. I have completely forgotten about those books because they were not something I’ll reread. I shot an e-mail back and said anytime. It would be nice to catch up. It turns out that he found those books while packing for a cross-country move. The book plates disclosed the ownership. That said, I usually don’t offer to lend out books because people might forget, like in this case, had he not been going through his stuff the books might never return to the rightful owner. I only extend this borrowing privilege to people who I know would at least read the books or have the intention of reading. On the other hand, I hardly borrow books from friends because none of my friends read as voraciously as I do. I also feel obliged to return books within a time constraint. To avoid awkwardness I shall get my own books.

2 Responses

  1. Agreed … Exactly how I feel on the matter. …. Richard.

  2. I do have real-life friends that are bloggers, and we share books all the time. But when “regular” average-reading friends offer me books, I hesitate because I feel obligated to read them and they usually aren’t very good. There have been exceptions but I have to be very very selective.

Leave a Reply

