• Current Reads

      Life after Life Jill McCorkle
      This Is Your Captain Speaking Jon Methven
      The Starboard Sea Amber Dermont
      Snark David Denby
      Bring Up the Bodies Hilary Mantel
  • Popular Tags

  • Recent Reflections

  • Categories

  • Moleskine’s All-Time Favorites

  • Echoes

    Matthew on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Anokatony on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Matthew on The King’s English Books…
    Katie Marie on The King’s English Books…
    lazyhaze on Reading Kafka’s “T…
    Buried In Print on Reading Kafka’s “T…
  • Reminiscences

  • Blog Stats

    • 991,152 hits
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,661 other followers

“Moving”

btt button

I checked in at the Booking Through Thursday blog, which is the host for a weekly book meme or blogging prompt. Here is this week’s prompt:

My best friend is moving across country, heading back to the East Coast for the first time after years of living in California, and one of the things she’s lamented was the whole packing-the-books thing. Having moved a few years ago myself (whittling down my 3000-volume library to 2000-volumes and still ending up with something like 50 boxes of books), I sympathize.

So … the question is––what kind of moving experiences have you had with your books? (Or, just in general if you’ve got good Moving Day stories–and who doesn’t?) Did having to pack and move your books cause any changes in your book-collecting habits? Make you wish you had everything on an e-reader? Feel free to discuss!

I’ve had only one moving experience, that is, moving back to the city from college. It’s only a short 12-mile drive over the bay on the Bay Bridge from Berkeley to San Francisco. After 4 years, I accumulated about 1,000 volumes, mostly fiction, and were packed into 40 banker boxes grouped by alphabetical order. Spines up and stacked. Before packing, I held a joint garage sale with my house mates to weed some of the books and I ended up hauling 40 boxes up two flights of steps to my apartment. The moving by no means dampened my spirit in collecting books. Now I amount to about 2,000 volumes and I won’t dread about my next move which hopefully would be my own property. As for e-reader, I won’t dispute the sheer convenience and portability of the device. But I still prefer holding a book in my hands and turning the pages. I defer some of my readings to the e-reader when I travel. Gone are the days of schlepping a luggage full of books since airlines are scaling down weights allowance. I’ll have a few paperbacks in my personal belonging and a few more in my checked bag. No more than 6 or 7 books. All the rest I read from e-reader.

One Response

  1. Books certainly have their way of building up and taking a lot of time during moving. I used to take so many books with me when I traveled anywhere for more than a month or two (lol). That was silly.

Leave a Reply

