• Current Reads

      Life after Life Jill McCorkle
      This Is Your Captain Speaking Jon Methven
      The Starboard Sea Amber Dermont
      Snark David Denby
      Bring Up the Bodies Hilary Mantel
  • Popular Tags

  • Recent Reflections

  • Categories

  • Moleskine’s All-Time Favorites

  • Echoes

    Andrea on [829] Inferno – Dan…
    Matthew on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Anokatony on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Matthew on The King’s English Books…
    Katie Marie on The King’s English Books…
    lazyhaze on Reading Kafka’s “T…
  • Reminiscences

  • Blog Stats

    • 997,232 hits
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,722 other followers

Cold and Blustery Day

Matt 260

June in San Francisco is winter. Completely fogged in, blustery, and chilly. It’s perfect day for hot tea and a book on the couch. The book itself is well-written, but tedious. It’s almost like the author is trying too hard to be erudite. I’m not going to name the book because I still have another hundred pages to go—at least I haven’t lost my interest even though the characters are all stuck-up and not likeable. (Hint: It’s one of the books in the picture.) What drives me is each character confronts their aspirations and limitations, they find renewal in surprising and satisfying ways. But again, while the writing is polished, the author tries too hard to impress. It’s the common “not able to see the forest for the trees” cliché.

6 Responses

  1. I love days where I can curl up without guilt and read my books. Seriously I can count on one hand (one finger!) how many times this happens in a year, but that is OK. I’m personally looking forward to the marathon flight(s) to Poland here in a couple of weeks. Read-a-thon baby! I can’t wait to hear which book you are talking about. I have no clue.

  2. I’m hoping you aren’t talking about Wally Lamb… he doesn’t usually come across that way. Can’t wait to read his new book.

    • Not worries, it’s not Wally Lamb. I need a short break from big book after To Wolfe, which I enjoyed. The copy in the picture is from BEA.

  3. It’s so cold today! 57F. No sun. I went out to feed my boyfriend’s kitties and stayed with them for a while. Curled up and read a book with a cup of hot tea. This is why I tend to get lots of readings done in June because I don’t want to go outside and workload is the lightest after school is out. I’ll be living vicariously through you in Poland!

  4. I wish. June in Taiwan is insanely hot and humid. Most of my reading gets done at night, in bed, with the air conditioning blasting.

    • I avoid making trips to Asia in summer because I don’t last long in that humidity. The California desert can get as hot as 38C but it’s dry heat. You just need sun block and moisturizer. Here I usually read in the morning over coffee.

Leave a Reply

