• Current Reads

      Life after Life Jill McCorkle
      This Is Your Captain Speaking Jon Methven
      The Starboard Sea Amber Dermont
      Snark David Denby
      Bring Up the Bodies Hilary Mantel
  • Popular Tags

  • Recent Reflections

  • Categories

  • Moleskine’s All-Time Favorites

  • Echoes

    Andrea on [829] Inferno – Dan…
    Matthew on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Anokatony on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Matthew on The King’s English Books…
    Katie Marie on The King’s English Books…
    lazyhaze on Reading Kafka’s “T…
  • Reminiscences

  • Blog Stats

    • 997,232 hits
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,722 other followers

Book Donation Center

SFPL1

I have always talked about book acquisitions. Ever wonder what happened to all the books after I have finished? I keep about half of them and donate the rest. The thrift shop has been a reliable recipient of my discarded books but I have found the Friends of the San Francisco Public Library donation center an even better place. This venue is singlehandedly responsible for the merchandises at the two locations of Reader’s Bookstore at the Main Library and in Fort Mason. From the outside, the only hint that the bookstore at Fort Mason Center isn’t your average used bookstore is a cart, often stacked with bags or boxes, under a sign reading, “Book Donations.” Sales at the Readers Bookstore, which gets its inventory solely through donations, keep climbing while other stores struggle to survive or face closure. Everything—from signed, first edition copies to recent best-sellers—is priced about 20 percent lower than at other used bookstores. The donation center in the Mission hosts a $1 book sale on every second Saturday of the month. All proceeds from book sales go to the library, as the stores are all manned by volunteers. I would drop off the books and browse their store, end up spending money, but at least it’s for a good cause.

4 Responses

  1. Sometimes I miss the Bay Area. This would be a place I would get in my car and drive to right after reading your post. Thanks for letting us know about it. Hopefully I can browse one of the shops someday!

  2. I love this! Especially that they offer a huge variety, not just a bunch of tattered gothic romance paperbacks, which is the normal fare at used bookstores. I donate all of my books and audios to the library. They certainly have given me some incredible services, so the least I can do is give back.

  3. I bet there are some great finds at this place. Would love to visit one day. For my part, I do try to donate books to the library as well. We have a library store which has a lot of interesting finds and at great prices!

  4. wow! I could so get lost in this place. What a great way to donate and spend money. I just sent a huge garbage bag with my son to put into the Better World Books hosted by Amway box!!

Leave a Reply

