• Current Reads

      Life after Life Jill McCorkle
      This Is Your Captain Speaking Jon Methven
      The Starboard Sea Amber Dermont
      Snark David Denby
      Bring Up the Bodies Hilary Mantel
  • Popular Tags

  • Recent Reflections

  • Categories

  • Moleskine’s All-Time Favorites

  • Echoes

    Matthew on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Anokatony on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Matthew on The King’s English Books…
    Katie Marie on The King’s English Books…
    lazyhaze on Reading Kafka’s “T…
    Buried In Print on Reading Kafka’s “T…
  • Reminiscences

  • Blog Stats

    • 991,701 hits
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,666 other followers

Choosing

btt button

I checked in at the Booking Through Thursday blog, which is the host for a weekly book meme or blogging prompt. Here is this week’s prompt:

What makes you choose the books you read?
Genre? Reviews? Certain authors? Covers? Recommendations?

1. Bloggers’ recommendations: If my favorite book bloggers make a buzz about a book, I’m off to he bookstore.
2. Genre: I tend to read predominantly within a genre—literary fiction, translated literature, and contemporary classics (i.e. 20th century).
3. Literary Awards: I follow Booker Prize and choose my readings from the long- and shortlists.
4. Bookstore: Browsing is fun. I always look at the new book table at my local bookstores. Sometimes I’m surprised by the fruit of random browsing. The latest find is Mama’s Child by Joan Steinau Lester.

2 Responses

  1. It’s a combination for me. Mood, genre, reviews, cover. All of it factors into my decision to read something or not.
    2 Kids and Tired Books BTT

  2. You are so organized! I am a mess. I am usually reading what is forced upon me. If I actually felt that I had a CHOICE (I know I do but I force this obligations upon myself) I wouldn’t know how to handle it!

Leave a Reply

