• Current Reads

      Life after Life Jill McCorkle
      This Is Your Captain Speaking Jon Methven
      The Starboard Sea Amber Dermont
      Snark David Denby
      Bring Up the Bodies Hilary Mantel
  • Popular Tags

  • Recent Reflections

  • Categories

  • Moleskine’s All-Time Favorites

  • Echoes

    Matthew on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Anokatony on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Matthew on The King’s English Books…
    Katie Marie on The King’s English Books…
    lazyhaze on Reading Kafka’s “T…
    Buried In Print on Reading Kafka’s “T…
  • Reminiscences

  • Blog Stats

    • 991,647 hits
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,666 other followers

New York, New York

FDR

Despite the free advanced copies of Bill Bryson’s One Summer: America, 1927 and Wally Lamb’s We Are Water: A Novel that I got from the Author’s Breakfast at BEA, the cab ride on Franklin D. Roosevelt Drive in New York City invoked many wonderful novels set in the Big Apple. One such book is Tom Wolfe’s The Bonfire of Vanities. My copy has been sitting on the shelf gathering dust. Its time has finally come. Set in the 1980s, the modern American satire tells the story of Sherman McCoy, a Wall Street “Master of the Universe” who has it all—a Park Avenue apartment, a job that brings wealth, power and prestige, a beautiful wife, an even more beautiful mistress. Suddenly, one wrong turn makes it all go wrong, and Sherman spirals downward in a sudden fall from grace. Despite the sheer volume, it’s a page-turner. Even though 25 years old the book still has relevance. Misinterpretations, the media, being stuck in a meat grinder, the justice systems, elitism. I’m enjoying it so much.
NYC22

The Bonfire of Vanities is a great book so far, but not as great as The Great Gatsby, which it so closely resembles. Reading it for the first time 25 years after it was published, I find it completely absorbing; it crackles with wit, insight and drama. Maybe most amazingly, I don’t find it at all dated, even though the New York of today differs so much from the New York of 1987, even before 2001. The book transcends its era, a remarkable achievement for a book so dependent on period details. The Bonfire of Vanities is as realistic as The Great Gatsby is poetic. The Bonfire of the Vanities is a morality tale and the recovery of the hero, and The Great Gatsby seems to have the same structure: serious immorality and perhaps ill-gotten money and luxurious living lead to violence and murder and death. That said, book novels evoke the vibrancy of New York City.

8 Responses

  1. The Great Gatsby is always a favorite, but I loved The Bonfire of the Vanities, too. Has it really been 25 years? Glad to hear you’re not finding it too dated.

    You’re lucky to have a copy of Wally Lamb’s latest. I can’t wait to read it!

    • Gtasby is my all-time fave. Reading Bonfire reminds me of Gatsby and its themes. I’m loving every page, suspense and humor.

  2. I can’t believe you went to BEA! Now I’m even more disappointed that I didn’t get to go this year. Would have loved to meet you.

    Sounds like some great reading.

    • I went on a business capacity. I attended discussions on digital media because academic libraries work closely with publishers to provide digital materials in journals. But I’m glad I had free time to attend author’s breakfast which is early in the day.

  3. I think it is awesome that you went to BEA…I can’t remember you going before but my memory isn’t the best. I hope you had a great time! I’ve not read Bonfire of the Vanities, but I do love Gatsby. That story just endures.

    • My cherry popped for BEA, finally! It’s so overwhelming but in a good way. I met so many wonderful people: authors, reps, readers, librarians. But I do have noticed the ugly side of perfectly civilized people who lug around bags trying to snatch as many books as they could.

  4. I requested the Bryson book but haven’t gotten it yet! Bonfire is a great book too. I had totally forgotten about it.

    • Bonfire is very entertaining. It’s almost reads like a documentary, with snippets on how the criminal justice system works, the racial clash and”white justice”.

Leave a Reply

