• Current Reads

      Life after Life Jill McCorkle
      This Is Your Captain Speaking Jon Methven
      The Starboard Sea Amber Dermont
      Snark David Denby
      Bring Up the Bodies Hilary Mantel
  • Popular Tags

  • Recent Reflections

  • Categories

  • Moleskine’s All-Time Favorites

  • Echoes

    Matthew on [836] The Girl on the Train…
    amaryllisturman on [836] The Girl on the Train…
    Andrea on [829] Inferno – Dan…
    Matthew on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Anokatony on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Matthew on The King’s English Books…
  • Reminiscences

  • Blog Stats

    • 997,817 hits
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,730 other followers

Perfect Experience

btt button

I checked in at the Booking Through Thursday blog, which is the host for a weekly book meme or blogging prompt. Here is this week’s prompt:

I want you to think about your ideal reading experience. Think about the location. (Your bed? Favorite chair? The beach? Indoors or outdoors?). Think about the sounds. (Is there music playing? Happy children playing in the background? Utter silence?) Is there a snack or beverage nearby? Are you alone or with friends/family (presumably being quiet enough for you to read in peace)? What kind of lighting is there? Are you dressed in something ultra-comfy? What’s your position? Curled up? Stretched out?

Pattaya 043

My perfect experience is one in which I can completely concentrate on the words, free of any noise, distraction, and interruptions. No music, unless it’s light instrumental such as jazz or classical. Absolutely no children around—this is why I have limited to browsing at the library, where playgroup and nursery rhyme time are now hosted. A nosh would be wonderful but I have to watch the carbohydrate abound in most munchies. Usually I read alone but friends know not to be intrusive when I have company. I prefer to read in plenty of lights—at home or away. At the coffee shop I occupy the alcove basked in light. At home I sit by the window, usually upright by a table with access to stationery. The picture, taken recently, sums up the perfect reading experience. My semi-retired friend’s hilltop condo in Pattaya, Thailand is the reading haven for me. Up I wake early in the morning before dawn and workout. Then I would sit on his wrap-around balcony every morning and read, with a bowl of tropical fruits and coffee handy. For hours on end I devour the pages until they have breakfast ready and we set up the table to eat on the balcony!

6 Responses

  1. I prefer to read inside, but by an open window. I like to hear the trees rustle and I like to feel a warm breeze while reading. I tend to not like to drink or eat while reading for I hate to leave smudges upon the pages.

    • I, too, like to read when there’s plenty of sun as long as the sun is not on the page. I also rarely eat when I read, at least not a complicated meal or greasy bites. I would have a plate of cut-up fruit by the pool in Palm Springs.

  2. I prefer reading in silence too or just light classical/instrumental music in the background. This is a great pic and definitely looks like a great place for endless hours of reading time🙂

    • Conversation in the background just shatters my concentration. That is why I often go to the coffee shop early on weekends so I can enjoy an hour or two of quietness before the weekend mimosa crowd comes in.

  3. I like reading in total silence by an open window near the bird bath/bird feeders. The beach is good as well, but I can be a people-watcher, so I don’t accomplish much there unless it is an audio book on my iPod.

    Have a good Sunday Matt.

    • Sounds like a perfect getaway for me. It’s tough to live in a city, and San Francisco is not that warm I can sit outside to read. I would read by the pool when I go to Palm Springs, whiling away all afternoon.

Leave a Reply

