• Current Reads

      Life after Life Jill McCorkle
      This Is Your Captain Speaking Jon Methven
      The Starboard Sea Amber Dermont
      Snark David Denby
      Bring Up the Bodies Hilary Mantel
  • Popular Tags

  • Recent Reflections

  • Categories

  • Moleskine’s All-Time Favorites

  • Echoes

    Matthew on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Anokatony on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Matthew on The King’s English Books…
    Katie Marie on The King’s English Books…
    lazyhaze on Reading Kafka’s “T…
    Buried In Print on Reading Kafka’s “T…
  • Reminiscences

  • Blog Stats

    • 991,465 hits
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,663 other followers

Childhood

btt button

I checked in at the Booking Through Thursday blog, which is the host for a weekly book meme or blogging prompt. Here is this week’s prompt:

Have your reading habits changed since you were a child? (I mean, I’m assuming you have less time to read now, but …) Did you devour and absorb books when you were 10 and only just lightly read them now? Did you re-read frequently as a child but now only read new books? How about types of books? Do you find yourself still attracted to the kinds of books you read when you were a kid?

Big time. As a child I read mostly books that were on the reading list. The huge amount of homework left little time to do anything, let alone digging on more books to read. From third grade on, I was an avid reader but read mostly what was suggested and required for classes. I was never into video games and sports—stuffs that boys liked, so I spent most of time outside of school reading. At around that time too I was introduced to the library. I can still remember the thrill of getting my own library card with a borrowing privilege up to 10 books—all for free. That was better than the candy shop. As for the type of books, I quickly grew out of the feel-good allegorical books and the live-happily-ever-after fairy tales that you find on school reading list. In high school I began to read authors from different countries. As I get older, I am more fascinated by language and the use of words. Literary fiction becomes a continuous indulgence. People often think literary fiction is pretentious, I don’t think it is superior to genre fiction, because they have different focus. Literary fiction emphasizes on the style rather than the plot. I feel I can appreciate it better as I get older. But as we say the world is round, I have found myself reading books that I never had a chance to read as a young boy: Anne of Green Gables and Wizard of the Oz.

2 Responses

  1. I particularly liked the question this week. I am tickled at imagining all of us little book addicts hiding under the covers reading, and getting excited to go to the library! Like you I read what I was told to read, as well as the popular titles that my friends were reading. By high school, though, I’d discovered Stephen King! Now THAT opened my eyes!

  2. I loved the Anne books as a child. Read them again as an adult and felt L.M. Montgomery should have ceased to produce the sequels as they became more and more cloying. A few years ago, I read the journals of L.M. what a shocker — she was a drug addicted nutbar. Bitter, w/ a bloated ego and total lack of respect for her husband. Upon finishing the final journal, in which she totally cracked up, I, too, felt as though I was on the precipice of mental imbalance! Not exactly the type of person one would expect to create sweet little Anne skipping down the path in Avonlea!

    -Debra

Leave a Reply

