• Current Reads

      Life after Life Jill McCorkle
      This Is Your Captain Speaking Jon Methven
      The Starboard Sea Amber Dermont
      Snark David Denby
      Bring Up the Bodies Hilary Mantel
  • Popular Tags

  • Recent Reflections

  • Categories

  • Moleskine’s All-Time Favorites

  • Echoes

    Matthew on [836] The Girl on the Train…
    amaryllisturman on [836] The Girl on the Train…
    Andrea on [829] Inferno – Dan…
    Matthew on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Anokatony on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Matthew on The King’s English Books…
  • Reminiscences

  • Blog Stats

    • 997,577 hits
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,727 other followers

Grabbers

booksinc1

When I don’t have the list of books with me, I browse the A-Z fiction section. When I am pressed for time, I scour and see what spines catch my eye. When I’m feeling random, I peek at the new book section. Sometimes the opening line of a book would just grab me by the nostrils. Grabbers are usually the tell-tale sign of a good read. To me they are way more convincing than the hype created by publishers in collusion with the media.

The Dinner by Herman Koch
“We’re going out to dinner. I won’t say which restaurant, because next time it might be full of people who’ve come to see whether we’re there.”

Hour of the Rat by Lisa Brackmann
“I seriously need to get out of Beijing.”

All That Is by James Salter
“All night in darkness the water sped past.”

Mr. Churchill’s Secretary: A Novel by Susan Elia MacNeal
“Half an hour before Diana Snyder died, she tidied up her desk in the typists’ office of the Cabinet War Rooms.”

2 Responses

  1. Ouch! Grabbing by the nostrils sounds painful! I agree, I am not one for hype. I prefer to read a few pages to see if it pulls me in.

    • That is why I really enjoy browsing the bookstore without having a time constraint. I pick up a book and start reading the first chapter and see if it pulls me in.

Leave a Reply

